• 72°

#dateformat(NOW(), “dddd, mmmm d, yyyy”)# #timeformat(NOW())#  Calendar



EpicuriousVirtual VineyardKidBytes

Honor roll students honored for efforts

By Rebecca Burk Ellis / L’Observateur / June 10, 1998

LAPLACE – St. John the Baptist Parish students who made the honor rolland live in the housing developments were honored for outstanding effort and hard work throughout the school year Friday afternoon at the annual St. John Housing Authority Honor Roll Extravaganza. Before fun and games in Cambridge Park, students listened to a motivational speaker and were presented with awards in the Recreation Center on Cambridge Boulevard.

Dolhman Brown, founder and president of Maintaining Total Control, a mentor program, was the keynote speaker. He told the students to continueto stay focused in school.

“You are the leaders,” Brown said. “All it takes is just one person. I see alot of leaders in this room. You can make changes in your community. Youalready are. You’re on the honor roll.”Even with their current and future successes, Brown asked them not to forget who helped them get there. “Never forget where you came from,” hesaid. “Never forget your mother and your father. And never forget thosewho helped you.”Students who were recognized for making the honor roll once are Lenord Augillard, Deliliah Ceaser, Daphane Deville, Tramon Dixon, KeWan Fobb, Davin James, Devin James, Tyler Johnson, Rolander Lewis, Trimika Miller, Rhenada Naquin, Laquinta Robinson, Kayana Sprivey, Latoya Vinnette, Nykeitia White, Kenyette Wilkens, Terriyana Wilkens, Travis Wilkens, Enisha Williams and Seymuhammed Wright.

Students recognized for making the honor roll twice are Olivia Anderson, Eric Charles, Aaron Duronselet, Michael Harris, Lydell Julien, Terriyaka Joseph, Christopher Klibert, Byron Love, Myron Love, Neon Narcisse, Kenneth Sprivey, Renata Stewart, Joyia Taylor, Ronnicka Taylor, Wayne Williams and Devin Young.

Students recognized for making the honor roll three times are Teroneka Clofer, Mike Duronselet, Derek Gardner, Lakevia Gardner, Ashia Green, Jermaine Greene, Demaries Isom, Reginal Ottison, Diantania Perrilloux, Ashley Pierre and Devin Young.

Students recognized for making the honor toll four times are Taylor Johnson, Shakita Robertson and Iesha Triche.

Three-year honor roll student Tyrell Lumar was also recognized.

Back to Top

Back to Leisure Headlines

Best viewed in 4.0 or higher Copyright © 1998, Wick Communications, Inc.

Internet services provided by NeoSoft.