Scc Looks Back At Past Year At Banquet

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, May 13, 1998

Michael Kiral / L’Observateur / May 13, 1998

LAPLACE – St. Charles Catholic looked back at a most memorable sportsyear at its annual All-Sports Banquet Saturday night.

The school’s athletic teams won district championships in volleyball, cross country, swimming and baseball, made an appearance in the quarterfinals in football and the semifinals in volleyball and baseball and won the state championship in softball during the past year.

One of the highlights of the evening was the presentation of the Mr. Cometand Miss Comet awards, honoring the school’s top senior male and female athlete. The award is based on points that athletes accumulate duringtheir careers.

Ty Monica was named Mr. Comet after lettering three years in football,four years in baseball and one year in track. As the starting quarterback,Monica led the football team to a second-place finish in District 9-2A and an appearance in the state quarterfinals. Monica was also the baseballteam’s center fielder and lead-off hitter and was recently selected to the All-District 9-2A team after helping lead the Comets to the district championship.

Kristin Oberschmidt was selected as Miss Comet after lettering three years in volleyball, four years in basketball and three years in softball.

Oberschmidt received numerous awards in volleyball, including being named most valuable player in the district and in the River Parishes. Shewas named to the Louisiana High School Athletic Association’s state tournament team and was recently selected to play in the LHSAA All-Star game in July. Oberschmidt was all named to the all-district and all-RiverParishes squads in basketball and to the all-district team in softball.

The awards were presented by 1997 Mr. Comet and Miss Comet, CaseyRoussel and Angela Klumpp.

A special presentation was made honoring the Class 2A state champion softball team with the championship trophy officially being presented and the presentation of the championship banner. Team members werepresented with shirts commemorating the championship and the players presented gifts to head coach Teri Hruska and assistant coach Anne Marie Burgard.

The St. Charles Borromeo Award, given to an individual or individuals inthe St. Charles Catholic community that have gone above and beyond theduty to the school, was awarded to Bubbie and Debbie Anderson. St. Johnthe Baptist Parish Sheriff Wayne Jones also received special recognition for his service to the school.

The senior athletes presented flowers to their mothers in recognition of Mother’s Day. The swim team gave a gift to coach Michelle Jensen in tokenof their appreciation. The Starsteppers dance team awarded a plaque tosponsor Rose Lodrigues and the cheerleaders presented flowers to their sponsor, Jody Vinet. The girls’ basketball team honored head coach JeffMontz and assistant coach Tricia Lowry with plaques.

Another highlight of the night were the slide show presentations looking back on the past year. The first slide show was dedicated to FrancisLuminais, who athletic director Don Fernandez said made the slide show a reality. A chair was set aside for Luminais and Fernandez said it willremain empty for as long as the slide shows are presented at the school.

All athletes who participated in sports this past school year were recognized with special recognition going to those athletes who received postseason honors.

Those receiving special honors were: Swimming (girls): Leigh Ann Acuri – state qualifier; Cara Chambers – state qualifier; Stephanie Donaldson – district champion (100 free), all- state (50 free, 200 medley relay, 200 free relay); Liz Dufresne – state qualifier; Jessica Eschette – state qualifier; Nicole Guarino – all-state (200 medley relay, 200 free relay); Mary Guillot – state qualifier; Krista Haydel – state qualifier; Abby Howard – all-state (200 medley relay); Lisa Roussel – state qualifier; Melissa Schlindwein – all-state (200 medley relay); Amanda Schexnayder – all-state (200 medley relay, 200 free relay); Sarah Weber – state qualifier; and Laurie Weimer – state qualifier.

Swimming (boys): Dustin Braud – all-district (100 breast); Brandon Broussard – all-district, all-state (400 free relay); Andy Cupit – all-state (200 medley relay, 400 free relay); Brian Entremont – state qualifier; Adam Gros – all-district, all-state (100 breast); Jeff James – all-district and all-state (200 medley relay); Robbie Paydo – all-district and all-state (200 medley relay, 400 medley relay); Brad Pinkstaff – all-district, all- state (50 free and 200 medley relay); and Josh Schexnayder – all-state (400 free).

Football: Henry Cox – all-River Parishes; Torey Mathieu – all-district; John Price – all-district, all-metro, all-River Parishes, all-state; Pat Rome – all-district; Wayne Stein – all-district; and James Sutherland – all- district.

Volleyball: Shannon Dolive – all-district; Kori Guillory – all-district; Kristin Oberschmidt – all-district and MVP; all-metro; all-River Parishes and MVP; LHSAA All-Star team; LHSAA state tournament team; LHSAA all- star; and Erin Shackelford – all-district, all-parish.

Cross Country: Monica Arcuri – all-district, state qualifier; Stephanie Donaldson – state qualifier; Liz Dufresne – all-district, state qualifier; Felicia Farlough – all-district, state qualifier; Nicole Guarino – district champion, state qualifier; Jennifer Pollet, all-district, state qualifier; Noelle Pilotte – state qualifier; Courtney Baloney – district champion, state qualifier; Sean Burger – state qualifier; Mike Donnelly – all-district, state qualifier; Devin Torres – all-district, state qualifier; Ricky Munoz – state qualifier; Ryan McEvoy – state qualifier; and Clint Scroggs – state qualifier.

Girls’ Basketball: Kristin Oberschmidt – all district, all-River Parishes, all-parish; and Melanie Punch – all-district and all-parish.

Boys’ Basketball: Credere Joseph – all-parish; Chris Oney – all-district, all-River Parishes, all-parish, all-metro; and John Price – all-district, all-River Parishes and all-parish.

Soccer: Jason Brignac – all-district; Allan Doubleday – all-district and MVP, honorable mention all-state; and Jeffrey James – all-district, honorable mention all-state.

Tennis: Stefanie Bedoya – regional champion (girls doubles); and Lindsay Trant – regional champion (girls doubles).

Baseball: Courtney Bonura – all-district; Jon Clement – all-district; Steven Faucheux – all-district; Jason Gonzales – all-district; Brandon Laiche – all-district; Ty Monica – all-district; John Price – district MVP; and Wayne Stein – all-district.

Softball: Shannon Dolive – all-district; Kori Guillory – all-district, LHSAA All-Star game; Marci Martin – all-district; Kristin Oberschmidt – all- district; and Alisha Reine – all-district.

Track: Liz Dufresne – district champion (800 meters); Cristin Clement – state qualifier (4×100 relay); Melissa Billings – state qualifier (4×100 relay); Maurice St. Pierre – state qualifier (high jump); Judith Diasselliss- state qualifier (4×100 relay); Abby Howard – state qualifier (4×100 relay); and Erin Shackelford – state qualifier (javelin).

Golf: Jeffrey James – all-district, regional champion, state qualifier; Brandon Broussard – state qualifier; Adam Gros – state qualifier; Jason Smith – state qualifier; Pat Lambert – state qualifier; Brad Pinkstaff – state qualifier; Scott Froehlich – state qualifier; and Christie Pickering – state qualifier.

Return To News Stories