Published 12:00 am Monday, April 20, 1998

Michael Kiral / L’Observateur / April 20, 1998

BATON ROUGE – Destrehan’s Kammi Darensbourg and East St. John’s TamikaWilliams, two of the leading scorers in the River Parishes, were recently named to the Louisiana Sports Writers Association’s Class 5A all-state girls’ basketball honorable mention team.

Williams, L’Observateur’s River Parishes most valuable player, helped lead the Lady Cats to a school-record 29 victories and a berth in the state playoffs during the 1997-98 season. East St. John reached the stateregionals before being eliminated by John Ehret.

The senior guard led the team and was seventh in the metro area in Class 5A with a 16.9 points per game average. She could do it on the other end ofthe court as well, being selected as the most valuable defensive player in District 6-5A. Williams has signed a scholarship to play for SoutheasternLouisiana University next fall.

Darensbourg was named the most valuable player in District 6-5A after averaging 23.1 points per game in 1997-98, second highest in the metroarea in Class 5A. The junior forward also led the team in rebounds,averaging 12 rebounds per game. Like Williams, Darensbourg served as herteam’s captain this past season.

Also making the honorable mention team from District 6-5A was Thibodaux’s Crescent Washington.

Krystal Jackson, who helped lead Southwood to the Class 5A state championship with a 17 points per game average, was selected as the player of the year. Southwood coach Steve McDowell was named the coachof the year in Class 5A.

Joining Jackson on the first team were St. Joseph’s Lori Nero, Salmen’sNancy Dubuisson, Airline’s Detra Ashley and Carencro’s Sarah Richey. Thesecond team consisted of Southwood’s Alana Beard and Tanisha Butler, Bonnabel’s Tameka Johnson, Salmen’s Salome Hector and Byrd’s Delesha Qualls.

Fair Park’s Stromile Swift of Fair Park led the boys’ Class 5A all-state team as the player of the year. Joining Swift was Clarence Moore of statechampion South Lafourche, Slidell’s Torris Bright, West Jefferson’s Dinno Daniels and Ouachita’s Brandon Dean.

The second team consisted of Salmen’s Chris Duhon, Zachary’s Jamar McKnight, Istrouma’s Darryl Robins, Slidell’s Terrill Donaldson and West Monroe’s Andy Slocum.

Making the honorable mention team from District 6-5A was South Lafourche’s Ross Chouest. Salmen’s Jay Carlin was selected as the Class5A coach of the year.

Return To News Stories