St. Joan of Arc Catholic School installs new student council

Published 9:26 am Thursday, October 26, 2023

LAPLACE – The newly elected student leaders of St. Joan of Arc Catholic School were recently inducted during the school’s annual Founders’ Day Mass.

“St. Joan of Arc has long been an institution that cultivates leaders, and it is a great privilege to be continuing in that tradition as we install the 2023-2024 SJA Student Council,” Ryan Flynn, an SJA teacher and Student Council sponsor, said at the mass. “These students have taken the courageous step of embracing the call to and responsibility of leadership. The confidence this step requires is self-evident, but it will be humility that allows these students to carry out the roles purely and effectively.”

Flynn told those in attendance that the group of young people being inducted were powered by the Holy Spirit to fulfill a life of service – a call that extends to everyone.

“We have great faith in these young Christian leaders, and we believe that they have been formed and loved toward this moment by their Lord, by their families, and by their school,” Flynn said. “We appreciate these students for stepping up to serve, and we have no doubt that these Vikings are up to the task.”

Elections for the Student Council seats were held at the school, with students choosing who will represent them during the course of the year.

The 2023-2024 SJA Student Council Officers are President Nathan Oubre, Vice-President Adeline Michel, Secretary Emily Sterling and Treasurer Jacob Laugand.

Seventh Grade Representatives are Emelyn Arnett, Brock Brunet, Mia Jeandron, A’Shyri Weber and Leah Williams. Sixth Grade Representatives are Cydnee Robinson and Brooklyn Williams.

Parker Edwards, Caroline Gaubert, Brooklyn Tregre, Kimani Brown, Cooper Cancienne, Saylor Anderson, Olivia Roth, and
Regan Hacket will serve as Fifth Grade Representatives.

President Oubre’s special appointments include naming Kaden Cusimano as Student Council Parliamentarian and Brooklyn Mazzeno as the Student Council Chaplain.