See who’s on the ballot: Election qualifying is underway in St. John Parish

Published 3:48 pm Tuesday, August 8, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

EDGARD — Qualifying is underway in St. John the Baptist Parish for the October 14 primary election. The qualifying period ends Thursday, August 10. The following candidates have qualified as of 3:30 p.m. Tuesday, August 8.

** This list is not official, as qualifying is ongoing **



Graylin Burl Jr.

Mike Tregre

Jarret Vicknair


Clerk of Court

Felicia Feist

Anita Haley

Kent St. Amant



Lucien Gauff III



No candidates


Parish President

Jaclyn Hotard

Charles Julien


Councilman At Large Div. A

Lennix “Tweet” Madere


Councilman At Large Div. B

Michael Wright


Councilman District 1

Joyceia “Joy” Banner

Damon Davis

Virgie Jarrow Johnson


Councilman District 2

James LeBlanc

Julia Remondet


Councilman District 3

Tammy Houston


Councilman District 4

No candidates


Councilman District 5

Robert Arcuri


Councilman District 6

No candidates


Councilman District 7

Dixie Ramirez


Justice of the Peace District 7

Ann Harvey



Races in Multiple Parishes


State Senator 2nd Dist.

“Chris” Delpit

Edward “Ed” Price


State Senator 19th Dist.

Gregory A. Miller

State Rep. 56th Dist.

Beth Billings


State Rep. 57th Dist.

Shondrell Perrilloux

Larry Sorapuru Jr.

Michelle Sweeney

Sylvia Taylor

Russell “Russ” Wise


State Rep. 58th Dist.

Kendricks “Ken” Brass



Patrick Henry “Date” Barthel

Oscar “Omar” Dantzler Jr.

Xavier Ellis

“Xan” John

Hunter Lundy

John Schroder

Shawn D. Wilson


Lieutenant Governor

“Tami” Hotard

William “Billy” Nungesser

Chester Pritchett


Secretary of State

“Gwen” Collins-Greenup

“Mike” Francis

Nancy Landry

Clay Schexnayder

Brandon Trosclair


Attorney General

John Stefanski

Perry Walker Terrebonne



John Fleming

Dustin Granger

Scott McKnight


Commissioner of Agriculture and Forestry

Michael G. “Mike” Strain


Commissioner of Insurance

“Tim” Temple

R.D. “Rich” Weaver

Judge, Court of Appeal Fifth Circuit, 3rd Dist., Div. A

Timothy Marcel


BESE Dist. 2

Sharon Latten Clark

Eric J. Jones