Brandon Brown named president of Louisiana High School Coaches Association

Published 10:19 am Saturday, July 29, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

RESERVE — East St. John High School Coach Brandon Brown will become a voice for coaches and student athletes across the state as the new president of the Louisiana High School Coaches Association.

Brown was named the incoming president during the 2023 LHSCA Coaches Convention held July 18-19 in Baton Rouge. Formed in 1938 as a sub-entity of the LHSAA, the Louisiana High School Coaches Association seeks to maintain the highest standards of sportsmanship and fair play in athletics and in the coaching profession across Louisiana high schools. The LHSCA has grown through the years to encompass approximately 12,000 coaches, athletic directors, administrators and superintendents.

“It’s a very humbling experience any time your peers in any profession vote for you for such an honor. It feels good,” Brown said. “It lets me know that my work is not in vain. It’s about changing lives. You can be a voice for not only the coaches, but also student athletes across the whole state. It means a lot.”

Brown looks forward to maintaining open lines of communication with the LHSAA to discuss rules, regulations, and proposed changes that coaches would like to see.

“We will be able to work together and talk about the positives as well,” Brown said. “I think the state of Louisiana is doing a really good job with our student athletes and coaches. Especially in St. John, we don’t just hire coaches; we are teachers as well. We are teaching them not only the game, but also life skills. We are teaching them how to interact and how to be accountable.”

After completing his one-year term, Brown will move into a past president role on the LHSCA Executive Council. Brown is the second LHSCA president to represent East St. John since the Association’s inception. Wayde Keiser held the position in 2001. Two past presidents have hailed from Lutcher High School in St. James Parish – Tim Detillier (1993) and Dwain Jenkins (2018-19).

For more information, visit