Schools & scholars earn 2023 End-of-Year recognition awards

Published 2:06 pm Sunday, July 2, 2023

RESERVE — The St. John the Baptist Parish School Board presented schools and scholars with 2023 end-of-year recognition awards during last week’s meeting.

East St. John Preparatory Academy received the School Culture and Climate Award. The Bobcats also held the Most Improved Attendance Rate Award with an increase of 3.88% and the Most Improved Truancy Award with a decrease of 20.5%.

Meanwhile, John L. Ory Magnet School was recognized for having the highest attendance at 95.61%, as well as the lowest truancy rate at 17.3%. Fifth Ward Elementary earned two awards for PBIS Data Wall and PBIS Bus Behavior Bucks.

Several students received individual awards. Sarai Gaines has never missed a class in the past four years, making her the scholar with the most consecutive years of perfect attendance in the district.

Jpoints champions from each school were recognized, including:

Legend Taylor – East St. John High

Sarai Gaines – East St. John Prep

Reginae Williams – Emily C. Watkins

Josiah Jordan – Fifth Ward Elementary

Jace Joseph – Garyville Mt. Airy Math & Science Magnet

Aibrean Crusto – John L. Ory Magnet

Christian Mejia Acosta – Lake Pontchartrain Elementary

Kylee Williams – LaPlace Elementary

Liza Green – STEM Magnet

Amaya Nicholson – St. John Success Academy

A’Myre Green – West St. John Elementary

E’Mlray Fletcher – West St. John High


Recognition was also given to support employees of the year from each school:

Lionel Lewis – West St. John Elementary

Terri White – Garyville Mt. Airy Magnet

Reonda Williams – John L. Ory

Donna Scott – West St. John High

Patricia Nicholas – Lake Pontchartrain Elementary

Brenda Vicknair – East St. John High

Violeta Perez – Fifth Ward Elementary

Brigette price – LaPlace Elementary

Iona Navarre – East St. John Prep

Quinetta Rivet – STEM