St. John Parish Schools announces new district & school leadership appointments

Published 3:50 pm Wednesday, June 14, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

RESERVE  — Thirteen St. John the Baptist Parish Public Schools employees will assume new district or school leadership positions for the 2023-2024 school year.
“It is with great pride that we introduce leaders in new positions and those newly starting out in leadership positions,” Superintendent Rebecca Johnson said. “We are grateful and proud of their courage to be ready for these new responsibilities. We know that they will do exceptional work on behalf of the students, teachers, and staff they serve.”

On the high school level, Tori Bazile will take over as principal of East St. John High School, while Fallon Buckner-Ward will serve as assistant principal.

Corey Lambert will now serve as the interim program administrator at St. John Alternative School.

Many of the district’s elementary schools will welcome new leaders. David Lewis will now serve as principal of Lake Pontchartrain Elementary, while Dr. Kara Lawson will now be the principal at Garyville/Mt. Airy Magnet.

The new assistant principal at LaPlace Elementary is Beatrice Crosby, and RaSheda Arceneaux is now the assistant principal at East St. John Prep.

John L. Ory Magnet will see its interim leaders become permanent. Heather Reese will serve as principal and Tiffany Jones will be assistant principal at the school.

Emily C. Watkins will also see its interim leaders assume permanent roles. Shontrece Lathers is principal at the school, and Dr. Latricia Blain is assistant principal.

On the district level, DeShanna Bause will now work as the curriculum facilitator and Vachella Jones is the new title III compliance coordinator.