April 29 election information

Published 7:21 am Wednesday, April 12, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

ST.JOHN PARISH — Saturday, April 29, is Election Day for the Municipal General Election.

On the ballot is a millage renewal of 10.56 mills for St. John the Baptist public school teachers and staff that would be in effect for 10 years beginning in 2024 until 2033.

This is not a new tax but a renewal of an existing property tax. According to the information on the ballot, it would provide annual improvement of salaries and employee health care of teachers and all other employees of the district. It is estimated to generate $8,140,000 at this time to be collected from the levy of the tax for an entire year


Voting locations


Due to repairs in the parish, some of the voting day locations have changed.


04-14, 07-02, 07-03, 07-05, and 07-07 returns to LaPlace Elementary School located at 393 Greenwood Dr in LaPlace.


06-01, 06-03, and 06-04 will vote at the Arcuri Center located at 1020 Cambridge Dr in LaPlace.


Voters in precinct 05-04 that voted at the Norris J. Millet St John Parish Library on Hwy 51 will go to Lake Pontchartrain Elementary School located at 3328 Hwy 51 in LaPlace.


Precinct 01-01 at the Pleasure Bend Fire Station located at 1200 highway 643 in Vacherie will vote at a mobile precinct stationed at the same location.


Other information


Early voting is April 15-22 (excluding Sunday, April 16) from 8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. and will be held on the east bank at the St. John the Baptist Parish Government complex located at 1811 W. Airline Hwy in LaPlace. On the west bank, early voting will take place at the St. John Courthouse located at 2393 Hwy 18 in Edgard.

The deadline to request an absentee ballot is April 25 by 4:30 p.m. (other than military and overseas voters). Voters can request an absentee ballot online through the Voter Portal or in writing through the Registrar of Voters Office located at 1811 W. Airline Hwy in LaPlace.

The deadline for a registrar of voters to receive a voted absentee ballot is April 28 by 4:30 p.m. (other than military and overseas voters).

Polls open at 7 a.m. and close at 8 p.m. on April 29, Election Day. Anyone in line at 8 p.m. will be allowed to vote.

Voters can find their polling location and sample ballot by downloading the GeauxVote Mobile app for smartphones, or by visiting www.GeauxVote.com and logging into the Voter Portal. Texts alerts are available through the app.

Voters should bring an ID with them to vote (Louisiana driver’s license, Louisiana Special ID card, a generally recognized picture identification card with name and signature such as a passport, or a digital license via LA Wallet).