Published 2:42 pm Wednesday, July 20, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...
BATON ROUGE, La. –  The Louisiana Department of Education (the Department) today announced the 2023 Teacher and Principal of the Year state-level winners.
Brittany Bonnaffons of Hahnville High School in St. Charles Parish has been selected as the 2023 State Teacher of the Year and Dr. David Schexnaydre, Jr. of Harry M. Hurst Middle School in St. Charles Parish is the 2023 State Principal of the Year.
“I would like to extend my personal congratulations to Brittany and David and thank them on behalf of the entire Department,” said State Superintendent of Education Dr. Cade Brumley. “I look forward to celebrating with them and all honorees at what I expect to be a fantastic night for Louisiana educators.”
In partnership with Dream Teachers and the Louisiana Association of Principals, the Department annually recognizes and celebrates the state’s leading educators through Louisiana’s Educator Awards Programs. These programs provide an opportunity to acknowledge teachers and leaders who are making exceptional gains with students. This year, the Department and Dream Teachers will celebrate the state elementary, middle, and high school Louisiana Teachers and Principals of the Year; Louisiana Early Childhood Teacher of the Year; Louisiana Early Childhood Leader of the Year; and Louisiana New Teacher of the Year at the 16th Annual Cecil J. Picard Educator Awards Gala at the World War II Museum in New Orleans on July 30.
The 2023 Elementary School Teacher of the Year is Matthias Drewry of Sallie Humble Elementary School in the City of Monroe School District; the 2023 Middle School Teacher of the Year is Sonja Davis of Lake Charles Charter Academy; and the 2023 High School Teacher of the Year is Justin Templet of Chalmette High School in St. Bernard Parish.
The 2023 Elementary School Principal of the Year is Heather Brooks of Haynesville Elementary School in Claiborne Parish; the 2023 Middle School Principal of the Year is Michael Hilton III of Lowery Middle School in Ascension Parish; and the 2023 High School Principal of the Year is Tamela Phillips of North DeSoto High School in DeSoto Parish.
# # # #