LSMSA Class of 2022 celebrates 38th commencement ceremony

Published 12:58 pm Monday, May 23, 2022

(Natchitoches, La.) – Ninety-four seniors from the Louisiana School for Math, Science, and the Arts (LSMSA) graduated during the school’s 38th Commencement Ceremony on May 21, 2022 in Prather Coliseum on the campus of Northwestern State University.

“The Louisiana School is a continuum with a strong past and a hopeful future, said Executive Director Dr. Steve Horton. “As you celebrate this significant milestone in your life, I encourage you to keep in mind the support and encouragement you received during this journey.” He expressed appreciation to everyone who makes the Louisiana School possible, including citizens throughout the state, legislators, elected officials, alumni, families, faculty, staff and students.

LSMSA’s commencement began in Prather in 1985 with 172 members of the first graduating class. Horton began the 38th commencement by recognizing some of the senior administration who have helped make the school’s success possible, including Chief of Staff and Director of Administration Dr. John Allen (’98); Director of Academic Affairs and Chief Academic Officer Dr. Kristi Pope Key; Director of Enrollment Management and Institutional Research Emily Shumate; and Director of Support Services Ro Slutsky.

Ha-Ya Davis of Hammond spoke to looking forward as she delivered the senior address.

“We have endured many challenges,” she said. “These challenges were not setbacks, disappointments, or disadvantages. To paraphrase Michelle Obama, ‘They were experiences in facing and overcoming adversity…’ We have developed the durability and maturity that we need to pick ourselves up and keep moving forward. We must keep looking forward.”

Dr. Claire Norris, Vice President for Advancement at the University of Louisiana System, was the keynote speaker.

Speaking to the graduating class she said, “This accomplishment could not be achieved without you trying, even when you were afraid; without you persisting, even when you felt insecure; without you achieving, even after you failed.”

She gave students some revolutionary, timeless advice that’s priceless:

  • Doing the right thing is not easy, but it’s worth it to you and the larger public good
  • Be intentional in life’s journey and understanding your place in it, for you only have a minute
  • Have a team, but make sure that team is diverse
  • Don’t fake it, ask for help, you have a village

Of those students moving on to the next stage of their lives, 67 percent will attend 13 colleges and universities in Louisiana while 33 percent are headed to 25 different universities throughout the U.S. and abroad. Collectively, the LSMSA Class of 2022 has been awarded over $20 million in merit-based scholarships. This is in addition to more than 1,650 hours of college credit through articulation agreements and dual enrollment credits, which over 60 percent of students took advantage of.

“With LSMSA as your alma mater, know that we hope we have given you what you need to thrive in your next steps in life,” he said. “You will continue to bring esteem and distinction to your alma mater as all of our graduates have done for nearly four decades as you serve you serve your communities, country, and humanity in various and diverse careers and professions. It’s your responsibility.”

LSMSA educates highly motivated, high-achieving incoming sophomores, juniors, and seniors from throughout the state. Interested students and parents are invited to visit to learn more or to submit an online application with transcripts, ACT or SAT scores, and current teacher recommendations.


LSMSA 2022 Graduates by Parish

Allen Parish

Jordan Hoffman

Ascension Parish

Makayla White

Beauregard Parish

Michael Meaney

Bossier Parish

Jordan Hunter

Ashley Mills

Adrianna Rhodes

Caddo Parish

Paige Bennett

Amarige Yusufji

Calcasieu Parish

Allie Benoit

Allison “Raney” Cappel

Max Collette

Abigail Huddleston

Aiden Manuel

Oliver Mixon

Thomas Shimer

Jake Touchet

Brandon Turner

Kambrian Winston

Caldwell Parish

Heidi Adams

East Baton Rouge Parish

Soraya Brumfield Mejia

Isabel Fant

Jillian McDougal

Ethan Mulamula

Macie Turner

Iberia Parish

Katie Lancon

Jefferson Parish           

Cortelina Encalada

Lafayette Parish

Isabella Le

Olivia Zachary

Lafourche Parish

Lillian Blanchard

Nyaleima Gbondo

Seth “Ali” Mitchell

Lincoln Parish

Olivia DeCoulode

Lily St. Amant

Landry Tucker

 Livingston Parish

Brady Covington

Cameron Crooks

Delaney Day

Averie Duran

Caroline Gubancsik

Corey Keller

Cameron Wainwright

Ilea Watson

Natchitoches Parish

Olutunmike “Tum-Tum” Adeleye

Julia Ferrell

Griffin McFarland

Leah Swanstrom

Ouachita Parish

Thomas Byrd

Lianzei  Perez

Pointe Coupee Parish

Leah Bazzelle

Abigail Chustz

Kathryn LeBlanc

 Rapides Parish

Haley Flynn

Garrett Parker

Sophie Powers

Kristin Schmidt

Yara Younes

Zeina Younes

Richland Parish

Abigail Yelverton

Sabine Parish

Andrew Gatti

Kaylee Herr

Ross Voorheis

St. Bernard Parish

Alex Kurtz

St. Charles Parish

Emma Loup

Quinn Moyer

 St. James Parish           

Madeline Core

Shelbi Rosenberg

Paegan Shaheen

Ashton Andrepont

Anneliese Braud

St. Martin Parish

Garrett Latiolais

St. Tammany Parish

Ella Abney

Hailey Dangerfield

Travis Elmore

Liliana Geier

Jessica Jason

Riley Leger

Tristan Nilsson

Tangipahoa Parish

Ha-Ya Davis

Thaleia Dufrene

Nicholas Guagliardo

Clara Lee

Terrebonne Parish

Kaleb Bankston

Sylver Chaisson

Shawn Coats

Rae Cortez

Kyler Naquin

Vermilion Parish

Allison  Viator

Vernon Parish

Brooke Turnbull

Audrey Weng

Webster Parish

Brianna Gahagan


Kaleb Atkinson


Andrew Huertas


Sarah DeWeese

Wesleigh Pierce

Sarah “Lu” Roldan