Election results: 2nd Congressional District race moves to run-off

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, March 24, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

LAPLACE — Voters in St. John the Baptist, St. James and parts of St. Charles Parish voted to elect a new United States Representative for the Second Congressional District during the March 20 election, following Cedric Richmond’s departure to work at the White House.

Since none of the 15 candidates attained more than 50 percent of the vote, top vote-getters Troy A. Carter (Democrat) and Karen Carter Peterson (Democrat) will move forward to a run-off on April 24. Troy A. Carter had 34,396 votes for 36% of the turnout, while Karen Carter Peterson had 21,670 votes for 23% of the turnout.

The voting breakdown for the Second Congressional District seat was as follows:

  • Chelsea Ardoin (Republican) with 3,218 votes or 3%.
  • Belden “Noonie Man” Batiste (Independent) with 598 votes or 1%.
  • Claston Bernard (Republican) with 9,237  votes or 10%.
  • Troy A. Carter (Democrat) with 34,396 votes or 36%.
  •  Karen Carter Peterson (Democrat) with 21,670 votes or 23%.
  • Gary Chambers Jr. (Democrat) with 20,151 votes or 21%.
  • Harold John (Democrat) with 403 votes.
  • J. Christopher Johnson (Democrat) with 288 votes.
  • Brandon Jolicoeur (No Party) with 94 votes,
  • Lloyd M. Kelly (Democrat) with 122 votes
  • “Greg” Lirette (Republican) with 2,349 votes or 2%.
  • Mindy McConnell (Libertarian) with 323 votes.
  • Desiree Ontiveros (Democrat) with 699 votes or 1%.
  • Jenette M. Porter (Democrat) with 244 votes.
  • Sheldon C. Vincent Sr. (Republican) with 754 votes or 1%.

Troy Carter said his priorities are equal and fair housing legislation, fighting for citizens with disabilities, criminal justice reform, environmental justice, equal pay/a living wage, advocating for reduction or elimination of student loan debt, allowing women control of their reproductive rights and expanding access to healthcare.

Karen Carter Peterson is running on a platform of bold and progressive leadership. Her priorities are advocating for economic justice, supporting impactful climate change legislation, sensible gun safety reform, immediate COVID-19 relief, criminal justice/police reform, public transportation, defending the U.S. Postal Service, strengthening small business and fighting for Medicare for all.

The deadline to register to vote in the April 24 election in person or by mail will be March 24. The deadline to register to vote through the GeauxVote Online Registration System is April 3.

Those requesting an absentee by mail ballot must do so by 4:30 p.m. April 20, and the deadline for the Registrar of Voters to receive a voted mail ballot is 4:30 p.m. April 23.

St. Charles Parish voters were also tasked with electing a new Councilperson at-large Division A following the resignation of Councilwoman Wendy Benedetto. Beth Billings (Republican) won the seat with 4,298 or 69% of the vote. “Dick” Gibbs (Republican) had 1,188 votes or 19% and “Joe” Larre (Republican) had 788 votes or 13%.