Parish receives check from Marathon Petroleum

Published 12:06 am Wednesday, January 6, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

LAPLACE — On Dec. 30, St. John the Baptist Parish President Jaclyn Hotard, along with Sheriff Mike Tregre, Assessor Lucien Gauff and Council Chairman Lennix Madere welcomed Marathon Petroleum Louisiana Refining Division Vice President Mike Henschen and Division Controller Dan Wortmann to receive the 2020 property tax payment of $47,596,119.62 for St. John the Baptist Parish.

The property tax payment for 2020 reflects a $23.3 million increase in property taxes paid from the 2019 tax year. The increase is largely due to the expiration of a 10-year Industrial Tax Exemption on the Marathon Petroluem Garyville Major Expansion Project.

“We are very fortunate to have a great relationship with Marathon, who is the epitome of a true community partner,” said Parish President Hotard. “I look forward to continuing to work closely with them for many years to come.”