St. Charles Parish represented among Louisiana’s electors

Published 12:00 am Saturday, December 19, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

BATON ROUGE — Bob Monti of Luling and Beth Billings of Destrehan were two of eight members of the Louisiana Electoral College who recently contributed to the 2020 United States Presidential Election.

Monti represented the Second Congressional district, and Billings represented the Sixth. This is the first time two electors were from St. Charles Parish. Monti and Billings are the third and fourth electors ever from St. Charles Parish, according to former St. Charles Parish elector Garrett Monti.

Louisiana Secretary of State Kyle Ardoin hosted the meeting of Louisiana’s Electoral College on Dec. 14 in the Senate Chamber of the State Capitol.

Other Louisiana electors includedVinson Serio, at large; Woody Jenkins, at large; Erik Skrmetta, First Congressional District; Ross Little, Third Congressional District; Rodney Michael Collier, Fourth Congressional District; and Kay Kellogg Katz, Fifth Congressional District.

The Electoral College, administered by the National Archives and Records Administration, is a process that began as part of the original design of the United States Constitution. The Founding Fathers established the Electoral College as a compromise between election of the president by Congress and election by a popular vote. The people of the United States vote for the electors who then vote for president.

For more information on the Electoral College, visit