Qualifying ends: St. John School Board, U.S. Representatives & Secretary of State elections set

Published 12:01 pm Wednesday, July 18, 2018

LAPLACE — The face of education politics in St. John the Baptist Parish could look drastically different next year following a wild few days of election qualifying.

All 11 incumbent St. John Parish School Board members qualified for this fall’s election, but they face a host of challengers, including locally known names and business professionals.

That public participation also includes statewide offices that St. John Parish voters will be deciding on this November.

School Board members are term limited to three terms; however, according to the school district, that election stipulation was instituted in 2014. All sitting Board members were allowed to start at zero in 2014, meaning the 2018 election is only considered each incumbent’s second run for office.

On the statewide political scene, candidates for U.S. Representatives qualified at the Louisiana Secretary of State’s Office in Baton Rouge.

There are two U.S. Representative Districts that cut through St. John the Baptist Parish, including the 2nd Congressional District and the 6th Congressional District.

The Fall Congressional Primary/Special Secretary of State Election will be held Nov. 6, and the Fall Congressional General Election will be held Dec. 8.

Those who have qualified include:

Secretary of State

A.G. Crowe, Pearl River, Republican

Renee Fontenot Free, Baton Rouge, Democrat

Julie Stokes, Metairie, Republican

Rick Edmonds, Baton Rouge, Republican

Thomas J. Kennedy III, Metarie, Republican

Kyle Ardoin, Baton Rouge, Republican

Heather Cloud, Turkey Creek, Republican

Gwen Collins-Greenup, Clinton, Democrat

Matthew Paul “Matt” Moreau, Zachary, No Party

U.S. Representative 2nd Congressional District

Cedric Richmond, New Orleans, Democrat

Belden Batiste, New Orleans, Independent

Shawndra Rodriguez, Baton Rouge, No Party

Jesse Schmidt, Gretna, No Party

U.S. Representative 6th Congressional District

Justin Dewitt, Baton Rouge, Democrat

Devin Lance Graham,  Gonzales, Independent

Garret Graves, Baton Rouge, Republican

Andie Saizan, Springfield, Democrat

St. John the Baptist Parish School Board

District 1

Charo Bossier-Holden, Edgard, Democrat

District 2

Albert “Ali” Burl III, Garyville, Democrat

Carl V. Monica, Garyville, Democrat

District 3

Gerald Keller, Reserve, Republican

District 4

Patrick Sanders, Reserve, Democrat

Pearl Foreman, LaPlace, Democrat

District 5

Clarissa “Reesce” Alvis, LaPlace, Democrat

Sherry DeFrancesch, LaPlace, Independent

District 6

Keith Jones, LaPlace, Democrat

Raven Warren, Garyville, No Party

District 7

Corey Hutchinson, LaPlace, No Party

Phillip Johnson,  LaPlace, Democrat

District 8

Russ Wise, LaPlace, No Party

Debra “Debbie” Schum, LaPlace, Democrat

District 9

Shawn Wallace, LaPlace, Democrat

District 10

Nia Mitchell, LaPlace, Democrat

District 11

Shondrell Perrilloux, LaPlace, Independent

Clarence Triche, LaPlace, Democrat

Lisa Tregre-Wilder, LaPlace, Democrat