St. John technology teacher leaders recognized

Published 12:08 am Saturday, December 30, 2017

LAPLACE — The St. John the Baptist Parish Public School District’s technology leaders were recognized for their innovation and shared their expertise at the Louisiana Association of Computer Using Educators Conference in New Orleans.

LACUE is a professional nonprofit organization that recognizes and promotes the use of computers in education.

The conference brings together thousands of teachers, teacher educators, administrators, policy makers and industry representatives from all over Louisiana and the United States.

Two educators from St. John the Baptist Parish received regional awards for their work. District Technology Facilitator Tanya Faucheux was named the Region 3 Leader of the Year, while West St. John High School teacher Nelann Taylor was named Region 3 Secondary Teacher of the Year.

Region 3 comprises St. John the Baptist, St. Mary, St. James, Ascension, Assumption, Lafourche and Terrebonne parishes.

Several technology leaders from St. John the Baptist Parish were also chosen by LACUE as presenters to share their expertise with other educators from around the state during the conference.

Coordinator Informational Technology Bob Bourgeois Jr., teacher Michelle Seymour, Technology Facilitator Tanya Faucheux, teacher Nelann Taylor, teacher Elizabeth Alexander and Coordinator Educational Technology Bonnie Dinvaut were all chosen to lead sessions at the conference.

St. John the Baptist Parish presenters lead sessions on topics including using daily data dives to help diagnose and prescribe the right medicine for data driven instruction, using social media and apps to communicate with students, parents and other teachers and using formative assessment tools such as EDpuzzle, GoFormative, Kahoot!, Quizizz, Plickers and Socrative.