Hairspray takes stage next month at St. John Theatre

Published 12:04 am Wednesday, June 21, 2017

RESERVE — The St. John Theatre in Reserve produces a musical each summer, featuring members of the community. This year is no exception.

Actors, singers, dancers, musicians and technicians are busily preparing for the July 21 opening night of this year’s show, “Hairspray, The Musical.”

The Broadway hit will be directed by long time St. John Theatre friend “Uncle” Wayne Daigrepont.

It’s 1962 in Baltimore and the lovable plus-size teen, Tracy Turnblad, has only one desire — to dance on the popular “Corny Collins Show.”

When her dream comes true, Tracy is transformed from social outcast to sudden star. She must use her newfound power to dethrone the reigning Teen Queen, win the affections of heartthrob Link Larkin and integrate a TV network … all without denting her ‘do.

“Hairspray, The Musical” will run July 21-23 and July 26-29 at the St. John Theatre in Reserve.

All shows are at 7:30 p.m. with the exception of the July 23 2:30 p.m. matinee.

Tickets are $15 for adults, $12 for seniors and $10 for children 12 years old and under; they may be purchased at the door, at or in advance at Allied Express, starting July 5.

Call Theatre Managing Director Crystal Faucheux at 504-676-4700 for more information.

The production is funded in part by a grant from the Louisiana Department of the Arts, as administered by the Bayou Arts Council. The Show is sponsored by Pin Oak Terminals.

The Company is as follows Tracy Turnblad – Abbie Shull, Corny Collins – Warren Hovis, Edna Turnblad – Jeremy Guidry, Penny Pingleton – Corinn Hovis,  Velma Von Tussle – Madison Gerhart, Amber Von Tussle – Logan Tauzin, Link Larkin – Lance Ural, Seaweed J. Stubbs – Jared Tregre, Little Inez – Amere Stewart, Motormouth Maybelle – Raynia Johnson, Wilbur Turnblad – Dennis Tauzin, Prudy Pingleton – Leslie Boucvalt, Mr. Pinky/ Brad – Lance Duhe, Gym Teacher/Prison Matron – Steven Fontenot, Harriam F. Spritzer – Daniel Brown, Gilbert – Darious Robertson, Stooie – Devin Batiste, Duane – Dominic Joseph, Thad – Jaylin Darensbourg, Cindy Watkins – Diavian Ceaser, Lorraine – Melody Newsome, Judine – Tewana Hawkins, Shayna – Raykael Morris, Kamilah – Vanessa Rodney, Motormouth Chorus – Janai Bernard, Tiylor Johnson, Nia Adams, Kassidy Jack, London Thomas, Tammy/Dance Captain – Jenna Toups, Fender – Evan Deroche, Brenda – Sophia Miano, Sketch – Rachael Hovis, Shelley – Desiree Faucheux, I.Q. – Luke Boucvalt, Lou Ann – Leeanne Hovis, Mikey – Andrew Turner, Tookie – Alissa Stutzman, Roz – Angela Dufour, Norene – Gillian Hebert, Dorene – Peyton Dunshee, Cubby – Amanda Selman, Beatnick Chick – Ashley Toups, Prison Hooker – Jaymie Walters, Ensemble – Tank Nelson, Julianna Miano. Ashley Toups, Jaymie Walters, Caroline Abadie