Sheriff’s scholarship paves way for nursing pursuit

Published 12:03 am Wednesday, May 31, 2017

LAPLACE — Heather Hebert of St. John the Baptist Parish has been named the 2016-17 academic scholarship recipient from the Louisiana Sheriffs’ Scholarship Program.

St. John Sheriff Mike Tregre made the announcement, recognizing Hebert, a 2017 graduate of East St. John High School.

She plans to attend Southeastern Louisiana University to pursue neonatal nursing.

Hebert is the daughter of Craig and Jennifer Hebert of LaPlace.

Made possible by the Louisiana Sheriffs’ Honorary Membership Program (LSHMP), Louisiana Sheriffs provide scholarships to graduating high school students from each parish where the Sheriff is an affiliate of the Program.

Academic achievement, leadership and character are considered in making scholarship selections.

The only limitations, according to Tregre, are that applicants be permanent residents of Louisiana, scholarships be utilized in higher education within the State and students be enrolled as full-time, undergraduate students.

Scholarships awarded in 63 parishes throughout the State.

“Academic awards by the Louisiana Sheriffs’ Scholarship Program to Louisiana students best demonstrate what the LSHMP is all about,” Tregre said. “This is one of our proudest accomplishments. Simply, it is a means of investing in Louisiana’s future. And this would not be possible without the generosity of our St. John Parish Honorary Members.”