Holden joins St. John School Board

Published 12:07 am Saturday, February 18, 2017

RESERVE — It took two votes, but the St. John the Baptist Parish School Board has a new member.

School Board members voted Wednesday to name Charo Holden as interim District 1 representative.

Charo Holden

Charo Holden

Holden was approved by an 8 to 2 margin, with School Board members Phillip Johnson and Nia Mitchell voting against Holden’s appointment.

Holden’s approval followed the failed attempt to name Jaquelyn Forest to the position.

Forest was nominated by School Board Member Shawn Wallace, but was not appointed when her nomination failed by a 4-to-6 margin.

Forest was supported by Wallace, Johnson, Keith Jones and Clarence Triche.

Those voting against Forest were Albert Burl, Gerald Keller, Patrick Sanders, Sherry DeFrancesch, Russ Wise and Nia Mitchell.

Outside of casting their votes, School Board members did not discuss their reasoning during the meeting.

Holden, who took her seat on the Board after the election, will represent District 1 until a special election is held in October.

She is filling the seat left vacant following the resignation of longtime Board member Russell Jack Jr., who transitioned into his new role as St. John the Baptist Parish Registrar of Voters.

School Board members also elected to name Sanders as Board vice president, a position previously held by Jack.