Councilman Snyder in as parish’s board chairman

Published 12:07 am Saturday, January 14, 2017

EDGARD — St. John the Baptist Parish Council members executed a peaceful transition of power this week with Councilman Larry Snyder assuming the role of Council chairman.

Snyder, who represents District 6, steps into a seat occupied for the last year by District 4 Representative Marvin Perrilloux, who stressed to Snyder he remains one phone call away if needed.

Larry Snyder

Larry Snyder

Snyder thanked his fellow Council members for the honor at the beginning of Tuesday’s Parish Council meeting in Edgard.

“I do think we should all get a chance to do this,” he said. “I look forward to working with all parts of administration and (Council members) so we can move St. John Parish forward, like we’ve done for the past five years.

“We’ve had a lot of accomplishments in the last five years and a lot of ups and downs. We’ve been through a lot of different things, but we did it with good leadership by the previous chairmen and, hopefully, I can fit in these shoes and keep things going.”

Division B Councilwoman at Large Jaclyn Hotard is serving as vice chairwoman, while District 3 Councilman Lennix Madere Jr. and District 5 Councilman Michael Wright are serving as Finance Committee chair and vice chair, respectively.

All appointment votes this week were unanimous.