River Parishes Transit earns excellence nod

Published 12:03 am Wednesday, January 4, 2017

LAPLACE — The Federal Transit Administration recently presented the River Parishes Transit Authority with the 2016 Excellence in Grant Management Award.

River Parishes Transit was recognized at the Louisiana Public Transit Association Annual Conference in Lake Charles, specifically for its management of the 5307 Program.

The FTA’s Section 5307 grants are urbanized area formula funds used by River Parishes Transit Authority for capital and operating assistance.

Presenting the award on behalf of the Transit Administration were Laura Wallace, director of program management and oversight, and Don Koski, director of planning and program development.

Accepting the award on behalf of River Parishes Transit were Board member Bedar Warren and Evangeline Jackson-Martin of Transdev and River Parishes Transit general manager.

The River Parishes Transit Authority provides general public transportation services in St. John the Baptist and in St. Charles Parishes with connections made in St. James and Jefferson Parishes.