St. John Parish players dot rosters across All-District teams

Published 12:01 am Wednesday, March 16, 2016

LAPLACE — Only three local schools field a boys soccer team, but that should not be taken as a lack of talent in the area.

St. John the Baptist Parish is well-represented on the two All-District soccer teams that encompass those three schools.

Between them, St. Charles Catholic and Riverside Academy, the top two teams in District 6-IV, took eight of the 11 spots on the first team and seven of 11 spots on the second team.

Houma Christian and Covenant Christian split the rest of the spots.

St. Charles Catholic junior goalkeeper Matthew Templet was selected the Offensive MVP and the Goalie MVP of his district.

Riverside Academy senior middle JuJuan Bell was named the Defensive MVP.

Riverside Academy senior middle Tyler Gauthier was named the Offensive MVP.

Sean LeBlanc, who led his team to its first district championship since 2008 in his eighth year as coach of the Comets, was selected the Coach of the Year.

East St. John struggled in the competitive District 5-II, but still managed to place two players on the coaches’ All-District team.

Aldo Reyes, a sophomore midfielder, was selected the Offensive MVP.

Senior defender Lino Barrera was selected to the second team.

Boys All-District 6-IV Soccer Team

First Team

GK Matthew Templet, St. Charles Catholic, Jr. ; GK Lamy Guidry, St. Charles Catholic, Sr.; M/D Daniel Jaubert, St. Charles Catholic, Sr.; M Andrew Rodrigue, St. Charles Catholic, Jr.; F Brandoin Lemoine, St. Charles Catholic, Jr.; M Tyler Gauthier, Riverside Academy, Sr.; F Ryan Roussel, Riverside Academy, Sr.; M JuJuan Bell, Riverside Academy, Sr.; D Brandon Burson, Houma Christian, Sr.; M Connor Chaisson, Houma Christian, Jr.; D Brad Griffin, Covenant Christian, So.

Second Team

D Evan Simoneaux, St. Charles Catholic, Jr.; D Jared Babesh, St. Charles Catholic, So.; M Luke Perret, St. Charles Catholic, So.; F Carter Duhe, St. Charles Catholic, Sr.; GK Evan Kenney, Riverside Academy, Sr.; M Elliot Veron, Riverside Academy, Sr.; D Jared Hymel, Riverside Academy, Sr.; F Tyler Zeringue, Houma Christian, Sr.; D Robbie Smith, Houma Christian, Fr.; GK Payton LeBouef, Covenant Christian, 8th; M Dylan Sharpe, Covenant Christian, Sr.

Honorable Mention

M Nic Lemoine, St. Charles Catholic, 8th; D Jess Plaisance St. Charles Catholic, Fr.; M Dane Edler, Riverside Academy, Jr.; M/D Payton LaFountaine, Riverside Academy, Sr.; F Devin Battaglia, Houma Christian, Sr.; M Sage Guerro, Covenant Christian, Fr.; D Matthew Lejeune, Covenant Christian, So.; D Hunter Landry, Covenant Christian, Jr.

Overall MVP — Matthew Templet, St. Charles Catholic

Offensive MVP  — Tyler Gauthier, Riverside Academy

Defensive MVP  JuJuan Bell, Riverside Academy

Goalie MVP — Matthew Templet, St. Charles Catholic

Coach of the Year — Sean LeBlanc, St. Charles Catholic

Boys All-District 5-II Soccer Team

First Team

F Seth Dugrene, Central Lafourche; F Mauro Ramirez, Terrebonne; F Hunter Dupre, Ellender; M Zachary Breaux, South Lafourche; M Aldo Reyes, East St. John; M Austin Griffin, Central Lafourche; M Zachary Chester, Central Lafourche; M Jeffrey Jordan, Terrebonne; M Steven Foret, Ellender; FB Marcus Brewton, Terrebonne; FB Al Guidry, South Lafourche; FB Cameron Gautreaux, Central Lafourche; FB Lino Barrera, East St. John; S Christian Padilla, Ellender; GK Tyler Danos, Central Lafourche

Second Team

F Matt Martin, South Terrebonne; F Jose Carlos Gonzales, South Lafourche; F Kevin Salgado, Ellender; M Collin Serigney, South Lafourche; M Trevor Crochet, South Terrebonne; M Cameron Dowden, Terrebonne; M Colton Price, Terrebonne; M Trey Naquin, Central Lafourche; M Nilson Aguirre, South Lafourche; FB Luke Guidry, South Lafourche; FB Jim Thibodaux, South Terrebonne; FB Drake Babin, Central Lafourche; FB Tanner LeBoeuf, Terrebonne; S Matthew Laird, South Lafourche; GK Dorian Lirette, Terrebonne

Honorable Mention

Mynor Soto, South Lafourche; Conner Plessala, South Terrebonne; Brett Landry, South Terrebonne; Spencer Dupre, South Terrebonne; Matthew Methe, Terrebonne; Isaac Moser, Terrebonne; Jadden Diaz, East St. John; Grant Scott, Terrebonne; Tyrell Morgan, East St. John; Marco Turcios, Ellender; Mason Dufrene, South Lafourche; Paxton LeBlanc, South Lafourche; Jason Munoz, Central Lafourche; Alex Guidroz, South Lafourche; Logan Breaux, Central Lafourche; Trendon Amerson, East St. John; Daren Tate, East St. John

Offensive MVP — Aldo Reyes, East St. John

Defensive MVP — Cameron Gautreaux, Central Lafourche

Coach of the Year — Simon Badeaux, Central Lafourche

(Teams were selected by district coaches)