Christmas card designers celebrated

Published 12:04 am Saturday, December 12, 2015

LAPLACE — The St. John the Baptist Parish Public School District once again held its annual Christmas card contest.

Each year, students are invited to enter the contest, and the winning cards from each category are printed and used by the school district to spread holiday cheer.

The winners were recognized Thursday at the St. John the Baptist Parish School Board meeting.

The winner in the first- to fourth-grade category was Chance Joseph from LaPlace Elementary School, in the fifth- through eighth-grade category Carter Byrd from LaPlace Elementary School took first and in the ninth- through 12th-grade category, Selena Barrera from East St. John High School was the winner.

Students are pictured with Superintendent Kevin George and School Board President Keith Jones. LaPlace Elementary School students were joined by Principal Alison Cupit.