St. John Science Fair a big hit

Published 11:45 pm Friday, January 23, 2015

By Monique Roth

LAPLACE — The hard work of some of the best and brightest St. John the Baptist Parish Schools students was on display when the District Science Fair was held Jan. 14 for qualifying students, who had to first win at the school level to qualify for the district fair.

Superintendent Kevin George said the hard work of the district’s teachers “scaffolded the steps for the students, which helped the students produce high-quality, well-researched projects.”

District communications specialist Jennifer Boquet said winners at the district level who qualified for the regional competition will present their projects at Nicholls State University Feb. 6.

“We want to thank New Wine Christian Fellowship for allowing us to use their facilities, and I’d also like to thank Shanna Beber and Glen Chenier for organizing the event,” George said.

District winners include: animal science, first place, Dyhn Mckinley; animal science, second place, Simiah Dorsey; animal science, third place, Soquoria Bolden; behavioral and social science, first place, Niall Pierce; behavioral and social science, second place, Malika Jones; behavioral and social science, third place, Kashmir Foley; biochemistry, first place, Bradley Lorenzo; biochemistry, second place, Chloe Akridge; biochemistry, third place, Aniah Newman; cellular and molecular biology, third place, Olivia Ried; chemistry, first place, Sinaija Ezidore; chemistry, second place, Darrielle Robertson; chemistry, third place, Calvin Lewis, Charles Mushatt and Torey Kenne; computer science, first place, Khain Hart; Earth and planetary science, first place, Ethan Millet; Earth and planetary science, second place, Carrington Clark; Earth and planetary science, third place, Madyson Mays; energy and transportation, first place, Tristan Green; energy and transportation, second place, Ethan Williamson; energy and transportation, third place, Pershing Toney; electrical and mechanical engineering, first place, Trent Rodriguez; electrical and mechanical engineering, second place, Trevor Trinchard, Angelina Wright and Aundreuz Ridgel; electrical and mechanical engineering, third place Myron Nicholas.

Other winners include materials and bioengineering, first place, Kerell Sanders; materials and bioengineering, second place, Jordan Carter; materials and bioengineering, third place, Savon Bridges; environmental science, first place, Jenna Beber; environmental science, second place, Darnell Bartley; environmental science, third place, Dominique Lewis; mathematics, first place, Brenna Epperly; mathematics, second place, Logan Bukaske; mathematics, third place, Kourageous Joseph; medicine and health, first place, Jessica Parker; medicine and health, second place, Tamyra Wire; medicine and health, third place, Ashlyn Brown; microbiology, first place, Jacob Bourgeois; microbiology, second place, Stanel Grover; physics and astronomy, first place, Ayanna Wallace; physics and astronomy, second place, David Hargrave; physics and astronomy, third place, Madonna Trinh; plant science, first place, Tenae Marshall, Jarae Jackson and Jazmen Jackson; plant science, second place, Amaya Williams; and plant science, third place, Ashia Henry.