Roundup: Cantillo maintains St. James School Board seat as voting ends

Published 9:30 pm Saturday, December 6, 2014

LAPLACE — Voters were heard on Election Day in the River Region and across Louisiana Saturday as several local positions, from a School Board seat in St. James Parish to a public service commissioner and three justice of the peace spots in St. Charles Parish, were filled.

Incumbent Mary Landrieu, a Democrat, lost to challenger Bill Cassidy, a Republican, in the Louisiana U.S. Senator runoff election.

In St. James Parish, incumbent Diana Cantillo took a runoff win for the District 1 School Board seat, where she defeated a challenge from Paul D. Taylor.

Cantillo finished with 596 votes or 56.49 percent, compared to Taylor’s 459 votes (43.51 percent).

Some St. John the Baptist Parish and St. Charles Parish voters were part of the bloc that chose Republican Garret Graves for the U.S. Representative position in the state’s Sixth Congressional District over a challenge from Democrat Edwin Edwards.

In St. Charles Parish, residents decided Forest Bradley Wright (1797 votes) was the choice over Eric Skrmetta (1613 votes) for District 1 public service commissioner, while voters in three districts had the opportunity to cast ballots for their justice of the peace.

In District 1, voters chose Henry Wolfe (1288 votes) over Richard Whitney Jr. (1051 votes) for justice of the peace, while voters in District 2 decided on Earl “Pie” Tastet (1420 votes) over Randall “Randy” Muller Jr. (1057) for the position.

Voters in District 5 chose Tika L. Riley (1246 votes) over April Black (1048) for their justice of the peace.