LARAYO extends title streak to 12

Published 11:45 pm Friday, July 11, 2014


LAPLACE — LARAYO cemented itself as the undefeated champion of the River Parish Swim League Tuesday night, besting visiting Riverlands 399-168 in the final regular season meet of the season.

The meet began and was suspended on June 26 due to weather.

LARAYO (6-0) broke open what was a close meet after one event with a 79-29 spread in the backstroke and rolled from there.  

The Barracudas had already wrapped up at least a share of the league crown, but Tuesday’s win ensured them an outright championship. 

LARAYO’s Matthew Schexnayder, Owen Weber, Emily Schex-nayder, Kelly Campbell, Ben East and Paige Williams each captured three first place finishes.

Brady Matherne, Adrienne Arnett and Hartley Faucheux were each two-time winners while Dylan Smith, Hudson Heltz, Riley Weber, Blakley Heltz, Gage Crowdus, Evan Brady, Olivia Keating and Jordan Jensen won one event each. 

For Riverlands, Alli Badeaux, Alex Noel and Grace Richoux led the way with three first place finishes.

Jack Chapman was a two-time winner while Luke Bordelon, Jacob Palmature and Natalie St. Martin each won one event.

LARAYO, Sun Villa and Belle Terre finished first, second and third respectively this regular season. 

Riverlands hosts the River Parish Swim League Invitational this weekend, with Sunday marking the championship events. LARAYO will attempt to defend its Invitational title and pair it with its regular season crown.