Ascension of Our Lord 8th Grade Graduation

Published 11:45 pm Tuesday, May 27, 2014

Ascension of Our Lord School recently held an Eighth Grade Graduation Ceremony for the Class of 2014. Eighth grade students and their families participated in a Mass followed by an awards ceremony.

Grace Richoux was named valedictorian. She is the daughter of Stacy and Mikie Richoux of LaPlace. 

Claude Hill III was named salutatorian. He is the son of Claude Jr. and Dr. Juanita Hill of LaPlace.

Three graduates received high school placement test awards to St. Charles Catholic High School. Cordell Rojo tied for first rank ($500), Claude Hill III tied for second rank ($400) and Kenny Matar was third rank ($400). This one-time award is to be used for registration fees and tuition fees for the school year. Students must score at or above the 85th national percentile on the High School Placement Test to be eligible for this award.

AOL Knights of Columbus Council #9623 awarded Blair Andrepont and Grace Richoux the Father Benjamin Piovan Scholarship, a $1000 scholarship for students attending St. Charles Catholic High School. They received the scholarships for their outstanding service, academic achievements and strong Catholic faith. Andrepont is the daughter of Alan and Tanya Andrepont of LaPlace and Richoux is the daughter of Stacy and Mikie Richoux of LaPlace.

The Knights also awarded the Catholic Citizenship Essay Contest Winners to Grace Richoux and Kennedi Ross. Ross won at the state level and received a $200 stipend.

Father Walter presented the Pastor’s Award to Joshua Emery, who exhibited great strides in personal growth, most improved in Christian attitude about self and others, growth in utilizing his potential and exhibited a deep awareness of his own personality.

Mrs. Ruiz presented the Principal’s Award to Kenny Matar for exhibiting the principles of citizenship, honesty in all relationships, living a lifestyle which exemplifies integrity, participating in school and many extra-curricular activities and assuming responsibility without being asked.

Other notable awards were: Altar Server of the Year awarded to Christopher Nicolay, Student of the Year awarded to Jasmine Williams, Christian Athlete awarded to Trey Joseph and Riley Loupe and Academic Athlete awarded to Claude Hill III and Grace Richoux.