Hurst Green Team receives state leadership award

Published 12:00 am Saturday, February 1, 2014

The Harry Hurst Middle Green Team were named the Louisiana U.S. Green Build Council’s Community Champion of the 2013 Sustainability Leadership Awards for their work in promoting recycling on the school campus and within the community. Each year, the U.S. Green Building Council honors individuals and organizations whose vision, leadership and commitment have been fundamental to the evolution of green building design and construction. The awards also highlight individuals and organizations that have helped improve awareness of the green building movement throughout the United States. Posing for the picture are (front row, left to right) Tiara James, Deanna Guarino, Laisha Harris, Jenevieve Bourgeois, Jala LaFleur, Skie Matherne, Johnika Jackson and John Radcliffe; and (back row, left to right) Jyde Stroud, Sierra Cain, Sampson Matthews, Jacob Johnson, Xariah Parquet, Kaela Schiro, Troynitria Evans, Danae’ Lathers, Gabryn Taylor, Zachariah Johnson, Nia Stewart, Tiera Walker, Diamond Miller and Gilbrea Thomas.