St. John sheriff announces promotions

Published 12:00 am Saturday, December 28, 2013

LAPLACE – At a recent staff meeting, St. John the Baptist Parish Sheriff Mike Tregre announced deputies who were promoted.
Tregre said, “Those who are getting promotions are taking on additional responsibilities, and I appreciate that they are willing to accept new challenges.”
Sixteen deputies were promoted. Tregre presented each deputy with a letter of promotion and badges.
Those receiving promotions included:
• Monty Adams – lieutenant, Narcotics Division
• Denise Bertrand – sergeant, Community Relations
• James Bessinger Jr. – lieutenant, assigned to U.S. Marshall’s Fugitive Task Force
• Troy Cassioppi – lieutenant, Traffic Division
• Mark Ceravolo – lieutenant, Patrol Division
• Steven Faucheux Jr. – sergeant, Civil Division
• Jerry Fountain Jr. – lieutenant, Criminal Investigations Division
• Anthony Giovingo Jr. – sergeant, Corrections Division
• Craig Gros – sergeant, Corrections Division
• Gordon Jeffcoat – lieutenant, Corrections Division
• Lawrence Joseph Sr. – lieutenant, Corrections Division
• Kenneth Mitchell – captain, Criminal Investigations Division
• James Oubre – major, Corrections Division
• Paul Oubre – sergeant, Traffic Division
• Hardy Schexnayder Jr. – sergeant, Narcotics Division
• Willis Stelly – major, Criminal Investigations Division
In addition to the promotions, Tregre announced the new assignment for Deputy Darlinta Cook. A four-year veteran of the Patrol Division, Cook will serve as a liaison for St. John the Baptist Parish Sheriff’s Office and the St. John the Baptist Parish Housing Authority.