St. Charles Parish Library Board chooses new library director

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, December 11, 2013

The St. Charles Parish Library Board of Control has selected Leann Benedict as the new director for the St. Charles Parish Library, effective Dec. 21. She replaces Mary desBordes, who is retiring after 15 years as library director.
Benedict has worked at the St. Charles Parish Library for the past 11 years, beginning as a systems administration librarian in 2002 and becoming associate director in 2006. She has been an assistant director since 2012. Before coming to the St. Charles Parish Library, Benedict was a librarian at Ochsner Medical Center.
Benedict holds a master’s degree in library and information science from Louisiana State University and a bachelor’s degree from the University of New Orleans in business administration with a minor in management. She holds an executive certification by the Louisiana State Board of Library Examiners.
“I am very excited and honored to have been selected as the next director for the St. Charles Parish Library,” Benedict said. “I am looking forward to working with the library staff, our patrons, the library board and the community to ensure continued excellence in library services to our parish.”
Benedict has overseen numerous projects during her time at the St. Charles Parish Library, including working on the St. Rose, East Regional, Paradis and upcoming West Regional construction projects. She also led the implementation of a new computer system for the library and manages all of the library’s eRate applications, which provide federal funding for a large portion of the library’s telecommunication and Internet lines.
She is a member of the American Library Association, Louisiana Library Association and library honor society Beta Phi Mu. Locally, Benedict has served on the United Way of St. Charles Strategic Planning Committee as well as a senior project mentor and member of the senior project panels with the St. Charles Parish School System. She is also an active member of the New Sarpy Elementary PTO.