Candiates set for St. Charles election

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, February 20, 2013

By Kimberly Hopson

LAPLACE – Qualifying for the April 6 special St. Charles Parish Council election ended at 5 p.m. Friday.
Three candidates qualified for the 2nd District council seat, and one candidate qualified for the 7th District council seat.
Republican Julia Fisher-Perrier is unopposed in her entry for District 7. Perrier will replace former Councilman Dennis Nuss on the council. Nuss announced in October that he was moving to Texas to become the communications advisor of the transportation, marketing and commercial department at the Phillips 66 corporate office in Houston.
Republicans Mary Keller Clulee and William “Billy” Woodruff and Democrat Vanessa Johnson will run for the seat given up by former councilman Shelley Tastet. Tastet resigned in December because of health issues.
Information on the candidates is available on the Louisiana Secretary of State website at The election will take place on April 6 from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.