LFCA recognises top players

Published 11:45 pm Tuesday, February 19, 2013

LAPLACE — A total of 16 local players were honored recently as the Louisiana Football Coaches Association named their All-State team for 2012.
West St. John saw five players earn spots on the Class 1A team after helping to lead their team to a berth in the state semifinals and a second consecutive district championship. Senior running back Kylum Favorite, senior linebacker Dontre Turner, senior offensive tackle Dontrell Smalls, senior defensive tackle Eric Bell and junior guard Micah Claiborne all earned spots on the first team, while senior cornerback Justin Bethancourt was named to the Class 1A second team.
St. Charles Catholic senior defensive tackle Taylor Cochran earned a spot on the Class 3A first team, while senior Comets center Jason Andrepont was named to its second team. Senior offensive tackle Luke Cali and junior kicker Patrick Juneau earned honorable mention. The four helped St. Charles Catholic earn its first repeat district championship since 1991.
Lutcher junior linebacker Blake Roussel was named to the Class 4A first team, while junior center Eric Taylor was named to the second team. The two helped lead a Lutcher charge that resulted in an undefeated regular season.
Hahnville senior Sergio Medina was named to the Class 5A team as an “athlete” after splitting time between running back and linebacker this season. Teammate Gabe Taylor, a senior linebacker, joins him on the first team. Junior kicker Craig Ford and offensive lineman Hunter Perrin each earned honorable mention. Hahnville overcame a 0-4 start to the season to earn an undefeated District 8-5A championship and a playoff victory.