The 39th annual convention of Alpha Sigma Tau sorority

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, August 1, 2012

The 39th Annual Convention of Alpha Sigma Tau Sorority was a huge success for the local chapter at Southeastern Louisiana University. For the second convention the Phi Chapter of Alpha Sigma Tau was recognized as being one of the top chapters in the nation. 

In 2010, the Phi Chapter was the recipient of the Founder’s Award.  This award honors the collegiate chapter that is outstanding in all facets of sorority, college and community life. 

In 2012, the Phi Chapter received another prestigious award, the Edward Jervey/Martha DeCamp Award. The Edward Jervey/Martha DeCamp Award is to honor the collegiate chapter, which has exhibited in all of its actions the highest adherence to the ideals and integrity of Alpha Sigma Tau as set forth in the Creed. With this award, the chapter was given a check for $2,000.

Greek Advisor Beth Richardson wrote in a letter of recommendation: “Members of the Phi Chapter of Alpha Sigma Tau can be seen

all over campus, are involved in numerous campus organizations, maintain exceptional GPA’s, and show significant pride in our university through attendance at athletic events, Greek life participation, and so on. Phi Chapter was named 2011 Panhellenic Chapter of the Year, and even more impressively, they are the only Panhellenic Chapter on campus to maintain chapter total for the spring 2012 semester! During just the fall 2011 semester alone, the Phi Chapter accomplished more than 1,800 community service hours, which is the most of any other Greek chapter on Southeastern’s campus! I take pride in the accomplishments of Phi Chapter of Alpha Sigma Tau, and I think they are more than deserving of such a prestigious award.”

Another honor included Phi Chapter alumna Rita Bertolino receiving the Lois Schweikart O’Dell Anchor Award. The Anchor Award is to honor an outstanding alumnae in good standing who has given exceptional dedication and faithful service to her alumnae chapter and community for a minimum of five years.

Also a member of the Phi Chapter made history in Alpha Sigma Tau at this convention by being the first collegian to be elected to the National Council. Allison Miller will serve two years as the Collegiate National Vice President.