St. Charles Council dismisses secretary

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, January 11, 2012



HAHNVILLE – Following their inauguration Sunday, the St. Charles Parish Council held an organizational meeting in which they voted not to rehire Council Secretary Barbara Jacob-Tucker, who has been in the position since 2001.

Council members Larry Cochran, Wendy Benedetto, Clayton Faucheux, Dennis Nuss and Shelley Tastet voted against renewal of Tucker’s contract. Council members Carolyn Schexnayder, Paul Hogan, Terrell Wilson and Traci Fletcher voted to reappoint.

Tucker is a certified public official who had been taking classes in public office management. She said she was told that the move was “nothing personal,” and the council said they wanted to go in a “different direction.”

Council members elected to postpone a decision on Tucker’s replacement after a malfunction with the electronic voting equipment in the chamber. The council said they would consider hiring an outside agency to advertise the position and filter applications.