Southeastern confers degrees on more than 1,200

Published 12:00 am Saturday, January 7, 2012

HAMMOND – Southeastern Louisiana University conferred degrees on more than 1,200 graduates Saturday, Dec. 10, at the university’s fall commencement exercises.

Robert W. Levy, the current chair of the Louisiana Board of Regents, was the keynote speaker at the 10 a.m. ceremony in the University Center arena. Candidates for associate, bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees were led into the arena by the Golden Graduates, alumni who graduated 50 or more years earlier.

In his welcome Southeastern President John L. Crain noted that the 1,274 individuals being recognized at commencement included 470 men and 804 women who were receiving 17 different degrees; and representatives from 19 states and 17 countries. Fifteen candidates received the doctorate in educational leadership and were hooded by their major professors.

Local students receiving doctoral degrees were:

Kelli Yvette Joseph – LaPlace

Students receiving associate, bachelor’s and master’s degrees were:

St. John Parish

Doctorate Educational Leadership

• LaPlace – Kelli Y. Joseph;

Masters Degrees

• LaPlace – Heather M. Andry Lozano, Educational Leadership; Angie T. Kimble, Educational Leadership; Shontrece Lathers, Educational Leadership; Holly M. Manson, Educational Leadership; Jodie H. Mapes, Educational Technology Leadership; Godfrey L. McNeely, Biology (Thesis); Nicholas R. Ory, Organizational Communications; Christine R.      Quackenbush, Counselor Education;

• Reserve – Matthew J. Cox, Educational Leadership;

Bachelor’s Degrees

• LaPlace – Susan A. Analla, Family & Consumer Sciences; James C. Carroll, Art; Kristin L. Chenier, General Studies; Maya J. Creecy, Nursing; Janea M. Dillon, Family & Consumer Sciences; Lindsey N. Eichhorn, Communication Sciences & Disorders; Amanda L. Evans,     Accounting; Conica S. Farlough, Nursing; Ashtin A. Fortner, Management; Trudy B. Gaude, General Studies; Steven E. Haniford, Biological Sciences; Darin R. Helm Jr., Management; Kathryn N. Kropog, Communication Sciences & Disorders; Jennifer E. Massa, Nursing; Jenna L. Milioto, Nursing; Frederick L. Miller, General Studies; John M. Owen Jr., General Studies; Philip M. Sutton, Management;

• Reserve – Kyroneka L. Batiste, General Studies; Jonathan P. Montz, Marketing;

St. Charles Parish

Masters Degrees

• Des Allemands – Celeste P. Chiasson, Educational Leadership;

• Destrehan – Alexandra E. Mayer, Business Administration; Pamela A. Pourciau, Nursing;

• Hahnville – Bryan O. Jones, Educational Leadership;

• Luling – Patricia Wilson, Educational Technology Leadership;

Bachelor’s Degrees

• Des Allemands – Marcy S. Naquin, Kinesiology;

• Destrehan – David G. Matherne, Management; Dennis M. Ryan, Accounting; Kyle A. Shnowski, Nursing; Michael C. Zuppardo, Management;

• Hahnville – Leighann W. Loup, General Studies;

• Luling – Kari C. Duet, History; Angela Hicks, Elementary Education Grades 1-5; Carlos C. Isaac, Business Administration; Gabriel M. Zeringue, Mathematics;

• Norco – Brooke N. Clement, Elementary Education Grades 1-5; Rachel R. Trepagnier, Biological Sciences;

• Saint Rose – Shannon F. Brown, Criminal Justice;

St. James Parish

Masters Degrees

• Lutcher – Ingrid B. Michael, Special Education;

Bachelor’s Degrees

• Gramercy – Iman D. Henderson, Business Administration; Michael L. Nosacka, Finance;

• Hester – Irene E. Starlone, Communication Sciences & Disorders;

• Lutcher – Jenna A. Boudreaux, Nursing;

• Paulina – Kyrie K. Bourgeois, Middle School Education Grades 4-8; Ashley M. Keller, Accounting; Michelle M. Laiche, Sociology; Melissa M. Schexnayder, General Studies; Nicholas J. Waldridge, Industrial Technology; Kymber A. Whitney, Psychology;

• Vacherie – Heather N. Faucheux, General Studies;

Associate Degrees

• Gramercy – Brittany L. Lambert, General Studies;