St. John Council will have many new faces in 2012

Published 12:00 am Saturday, November 19, 2011

Early election results have been tabulated for the various parish council runoff races in St. John the Baptist Parish.

Lucien Gauff managed to hang on to the Division A at-large seat. He defeated Richard “Dale” Wolfe 57 percent to 43 percent. Wolfe previously held the seat but vacated it to take the executive director position with the parish’s Housing Authority. Gauff won a special election to fill the rest of Wolfe’s unexpired term.

Art Smith has been elected council representative for District 1. He defeated Norward Johnson Jr. 59 percent to 41 percent.

Ranney Wilson defeated Demetria Robinson to take the council’s District 2 seat. He garnered 59 percent of the vote to Robinson’s 41.

Lennix “Tweet” Madere defeated LaToya Julien to take the District 3 seat. Julien is the wife of the current Distrcit 3 representative, Charles Julien.

Marvin “Butch” Perrilloux defeated Matthew Ory to take the District 4 seat. He garnered 57 percent of the vote to Ory’s 46 percent.

Michael Wright will be the new seat holder for District 5. He defeated Clifford Hebert 70 percent to 30 percent.

Except for the Division A at-large race, none of the parish’s council races involved an incumbent. Only two of the parish’s current council members will hold the same seat next year. Jaclyn Hotard will also return to the council but she will be the Division B at-large representative in 2012.