Election commissioners to be drawn Friday

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, September 21, 2011

LAPLACE – The St. John the Baptist Parish Board of Elections Supervisors will hold a meeting Friday to draw commissioners for the Oct. 22 primary election.

The meeting will start at 10 a.m. in the Registrar of Voters office at the Percy Hebert Building, 1801 W. Airline Highway, LaPlace.

The Board of Supervisors, which includes Registrar of Voters Betty Madere, State Appointed Representative Michael Jaubert, Republican Representative Vince Lucia, Democratic Representative Buddy Bailey and St. John Parish Clerk of Court Eliana DeFrancesch, will draw commissioners and alternates for the Oct. 22 election.

Anyone interested in becoming a commissioner should contact the Clerk of Court’s Office at 985-497-3331 or visit www.stjohnclerk.org.

Early voting for the Oct. 22 election begins Oct. 8 and ends Oct. 15, with a day off on Sunday, Oct. 9. The last day to register to vote in the election is today.