Dale Wolfe enters race for old seat

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, August 3, 2011



LAPLACE – After leaving the St. John the Baptist Parish Council in October to take over as executive director of the parish Housing Authority, Richard “Dale” Wolfe announced Monday he will seek the Division A council seat in the Oct. 22 general election.

The council’s Division A seat represents the western half of the parish and includes Garyville, Mt. Airy, portions of Reserve and all of the west bank. There are roughly 14,000 voters in the district, which is about half of all registered voters in the parish.

Wolfe, who has 34 years experience in public office, won the seat in the 2007 election but resigned in October before the term was up so he could take a $75,000 a year job as Housing Authority executive director. Wolfe was terminated from that post in May for a series of “contractual and policy violations” committed by Wolfe while in office.

Wolfe, 70, a resident of Reserve, said he wants to continue where he left off when he departed the council. The interrupted agenda includes working to create employment opportunities for all residents of the parish and supporting the expansion of recreation programs throughout the parish.

“I have dedicated my services to the people of St. John Parish for the past 34 years, and I have worked tirelessly for everyone and for the betterment of the parish as a whole,” Wolfe said. “I know the people of St. John Parish. I know the needs of the people, and I am a people person. I will continue to put the people first.”

Wolfe’s career in public office began in 1974 as a member of the St. John Parish Police Jury. He became a parish councilman in 1984, when the parish adopted a home rule charter. He said in his release that he “supported the investment of millions of dollars into the parish infrastructure” through a series of bond issues in 2009 to improve drainage, recreation and roads in the parish.

Wolfe has been a regular fixture in parish politics, including an unsuccessful bid for parish president during an April 2010 special election to replace former Parish President Bill Hubbard.

Wolfe was defeated by Natalie Robottom in a runoff.

Qualifying for all races in the Oct. 22 election begins Sept. 6.