Three re-elected to St.John School Board

Published 12:00 am Saturday, October 2, 2010

Three St. John the Baptist Parish School Board members won re-election Saturday, one was pushed into a runoff and another was defeated, according to unofficial returns from the Louisiana Secretary of State’s office.

In addition, voters approved two school board millage propositions.

• School Board, District 2: Albert Burl III, Democrat, Garyville, re-elected with 54 percent of the vote (422). Yevette Scioneaux, Democrat, Garyville, finished with 30 percent (231), and Elexia Henderson, Democrat, Mt. Airy, had 16 percent of the vote (127).

• School Board, District 4: Patrick Sanders, Democrat, Reserve, was re-elected with 73 percent, or 402 votes. Challenger Ferdinand Wallac Jr., Democrat, Reserve, finished with 27 percent of the vote, 150 votes.

• School Board, District 5: Sherry DeFrancesch, Unaffiliated, LaPlace, was re-elected with 70 percent, or 308 votes. Wilbert Ocmond Jr., Democrat, LaPlace, received 30 percent, or 133 votes.

• School Board, District 8: Challenger Beverly Harris, Democrat, LaPlace, edged incumbent Russ Wise, Unaffiliated, LaPlace, 39 percent, or 341 votes, to 38 percent, or 332 votes, to force a runoff in November. Chris Ory, Unaffiliated, LaPlace, received 23 percent of the vote, or 199 votes.

• School Board, District 10: Challenger Rodney Nicholas, Democrat, received 53 percent of the vote (317) to win the school board seat from incumbent Matthew Ory, who received 43 percent (257). John Olynick received 4 percent, or 21 votes.