St. Charles Parish honors 88 at Civil Service Awards

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, June 16, 2010

NORCO – St. Charles Parish honored 88 employees for both attendance and service during the 28th annual Civil Service Awards breakfast held at La Maison Magnolia reception hall.

Benjamin Ratcliff, a traffic sign technician with the St. Charles Parish Public Works Department, was named outstanding employee of the year.

Ratcliff is a nine-year employee of St. Charles Parish government. He began his employment with the parish as a laborer.

“Ratcliff is an employee willing to go above and beyond his job description,” Personnel Director Sandra Zimmer said. “He truly exemplifies the term ‘civil servant.’”

A committee made up of appointed and civil service employees from various departments chose Ratcliff from a field of nominees. This year’s committee included Troy Bailey, Valarie Berthelot, Tremaine Gordon, Monique Granier, Duane Miguez, E.J. Tassin and Sharon Wright.

Segments on the Civil Service Awards will air soon on the St. Charles Parish Government Access Channel, Cox Cable Channel 6. Photos from the ceremony may be viewed on the parish website at