Sheriff awards scholarship

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, June 2, 2010

LAPLACE – St. John Parish Sheriff Wayne Jones announced this week that A’Nyjah Johnson has been named the recipient of the 2010 academic scholarship from the Louisiana Sheriffs’ Scholarship Program. Johnson, a 2010 graduate of East St. John High School, plans to attend University of Louisiana at Monroe to pursue a degree in Pharmacy. She is the daughter of Elisa Batiste of LaPlace and Cedric Johnson.

Louisiana sheriffs across 58 parishes annually provide scholarships to graduating high school students as part of the Louisiana Sheriffs’ Honorary Membership Program. The only limitations are that applicants be permanent residents of Louisiana, scholarships be utilized in higher education within the State and students be enrolled as full-time undergraduate students.

“Academic awards by the Louisiana Sheriffs’ Scholarship Program to Louisiana students best demonstrate what the LSHMP is all about,” Jones said in a statement. “This is one of our proudest accomplishments. Simply, it is a means of investing in Louisiana’s future. And this would not be possible without the generosity of our Honorary Members.”

In the event that Johnson is unable to take advantage of the scholarship, Jones said Tyree Lewis of West St John High and Jamie Landeche of Riverside Academy were named as alternate recipients.

For further information regarding the Scholarship Program, visit or contact the St. John Parish Sheriff’s Office at 985-652-9513.