School Board poised to move ahead with projects

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, April 14, 2010

By David Vitrano


RESERVE – A handful of construction projects at St. John the Baptist Parish schools should be one step closer to completion following Thursday’s School Board meeting.

CSRS Inc. will present bid packages on three different sets of projects to the board for its approval.

First up are the various roofing projects at a number of parish educational facilities. As part of the project package, the roofs at West St. John High School, the St. John Child Development Center and John L. Ory Magnet School will be replaced. Additionally, Leon Godchaux, the School Board Central Office and the Redirection Center will receive roofing repairs as well as partial roof replacement.

Also on the agenda are bid reviews for a major construction project at LaPlace Elementary School. As part of the project, temporary classrooms at the school will be replaced by a permanent addition that will house new classrooms, administrative offices and a media center. The cafeteria will also get a little extra elbow room with an addition. One of the larger projects in the Master Plan, it has a budget of over $11 million.

A Project Review Committee meeting was held March 29 regarding the project, and the School Board may approve a bid for the demolition phase of the project Thursday.

Finally, CSRS will present the bids for the design phase of renovation projects at East St. John High School and the St. John Child Development Center. A committee interviewed two firms, Chenevert Architects and Grace and Hebert Architects, on March 25.

Executive Director of Business and Finance Felix Boughton will also present his third quarter budget report, and Purchasing Agent Peter Montz will give an update on progress made regarding the construction of a turning lane on Louisiana Highway 628 in front of Emily C. Watkins Elementary School.

And before the business portion of the meeting begins, Superintendent Courtney Millet will announce this year’s teachers of the year, support personnel of the year and principal of the year.

The School Board will convene Thursday in the Godchaux Grammar cafeteria in Reserve at 6 p.m.