St. John elementary students to use their words

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, June 17, 2008

John L. Ory Magnet School held an oratorical contest on May 1, 2008.  Students in kindergarten through 5th grade participated.  

Kindergarten winners were Elijah Brooks, 1st place; Jenna Beber, 2nd place; Kyle Albert, 3rd place; Makayla Gardner, 4th place; and Imari Lennix and Lucien Naquin, honorable mention.

First grade winners were Israel Walker, 1st place; Bria Neal, 2nd place; Taylor Singleton, 3rd place; Hannah Dowdy; 4th place; and Freddie Johnson and John Sweeney, honorable mention.

Second grade winners were Sela Pierce, 1st place; Kynedi Poullard, 2nd place; Holly Bray, 3rd place; Douglas Gilchrist, 3th place; and Amaya Dabon and Bobby Knowles, honorable mention.

Third grade winners were Sydni Leonard, 1st place; Kiera Robinson, 2nd place; Kia Marshall, 3rd place; Harlie Rodrique, 4th place; and Amira Jackson and Brittany White, honorable mention.

Fourth grade winners were Niah Smith, 1st place; Chloe Robertson, 2nd place; Jessica Leonard, 3rd place; Addie Wetzel, 4th place; and Alison Doiron and Asante’ W.

Fifth grade winners were Tanner Lawson, 1st place; Sarah Lacayo, 2nd place; Amanda Bordelon, 3rd place; Dakota Poche’, 4th place; and Devin Collins and Brianne Harry, honorable mention.