Riverlands shoots past LaVacherie in first meet

Published 12:00 am Friday, June 13, 2008


Sports Editor

Riverlands didn’t have to wait long for its first real challenge of the swim season.

After an opening day bye last Thursday, the Stingrays opened up on Monday by hosting LaVacherie, a team expected to be in the mix in the upper tier of the River Parish Swim League.

The Stingrays were more than ready for the challenge. Riverlands led the whole way, en route to a 308-241 victory.

“I thought everybody did real well,” said Riverlands Coach Carla Lambert. “LaVacherie might be the toughest meet next to Larayo, so it’s good to get a win and see where we stand early on.”

Riverlands finished second only to Larayo last season, and may be even stronger this season if Monday is any indication. After pulling ahead 61-47 after the freestyle events, the Stingrays pulled ahead by 67, 238-171, after all individual events were complete.

The teams battled to a draw in each of the relay events, clinching the win in the meet for Riverlands.

“I thought we had some nerves, being the first meet,” Lambert said. “I know we can do better, but I’m still thrilled with how everyone performed.”

Kyle Wilking, Maddie Guidry, and Merryn Guidry all captured three individual first place finishes.

Wilking took the freestyle, breaststroke and butterfly events in the 15-18 boys age group. Maddie Guidry took first in the freestyle, backstroke and butterfly among 13-14 year old girls, and Merryn Guidry took first in the freestyle, breaststroke and backstroke among 15-18 year old girls.

Others who won captured first place finishes were: Elise Loisel, Sarah Cavambiat, Jeffery Cupit, and Will Torres.

Rounding out first place winners were: Cody Moore, Jack Chapman, Matthew St. Martin, Trey Catoire, Jack Taylor, Matthew Torres, Trey Guidry, Anna Guidry, Laura Hane, and Macie Waguespack.

First place winners for LaVacherie included: Connor Klibert, Trey St. Pierre, Adelyne Labat, Dayne Alleman, Chris Ruelet, Kaci Becnel, Brent Labat, Taylor St. Pierre, Anna Cazenave, Cindy Maheer, and Lauren Becnel.