Changing of the government guard ready for River Region politics

Published 12:00 am Friday, January 11, 2008


Staff Reporter

LAPLACE – Three parish presidents, two of them newcomers, and a long list of new council members will be sworn into office during inauguration events taking place all across the River Parishes beginning with St. Charles Parish on Sunday.

In St. John Parish on Monday, President-elect Bill Hubbard will begin his first foray into politics when he takes the oath of office at the Edgard Courthouse in a ceremony starting at 9 a.m.

The Honorable Judge J. Sterling Snowdy will administer the oath to Hubbard, as well as District 6 Councilman Ronnie Smith, District 7 Councilwoman Cheryl Millet, and Division B Councilman-at-Large Steve Lee, who are all returning to office.

Judge Madeline Jasmine will deliver the oath to new District 1 Councilman Haston Lewis, new District 2 Councilman Danny Millet, and Division A Councilman-at-Large Dale Wolfe. Judge Mary Hotard Becnel will swear in Charles Julien, elected to the District 3 council seat; Jaclyn Hotard, who was re-elected to her post as District 4 councilwoman; and Darnell Usry, who was elected in District 5.

The St. John Sheriff’s Office Honor Guard will present the colors, and Fifth Circuit Judge Thomas Daly will lead the Pledge of Allegiance. Judge Daly will also serve as Master of Ceremonies for the event.

After the swearing in ceremony, a mass will be held at St. John the Baptist Church, located at 2361 Hwy. 18, starting at 10 a.m., followed by a reception at Westside Community Center.

The inaugural council meeting will be held at 1 p.m. that afternoon in Room C of the Edgard Courthouse. The day will conclude with the inaugural Gala at the St. John Civic Center, starting at 6 p.m.

Also on Monday, St. James Parish will hold an Ecumenical Service and Inaugural Ceremony at 1 p.m., for incumbent Parish President Dale Hymel and the newly elected council, at St. Philip Catholic Church, located at 1175 River Road in Vacherie.

A reception and inaugural council meeting will follow at the Vacherie Courthouse.

In an effort to allow more parish residents the opportunity to attend inauguration events, newly elected St. Charles Parish President V.J. St. Pierre scheduled festivities for this Sunday, beginning with a 10 a.m. mass at Holy Rosary Catholic Church, located at 15169 River Rd. in Hahnville.

St. Pierre, along with the nine new council members, will be sworn in at 11:30 a.m. on the grounds of the Hahnville Courthouse on River Road, with a reception immediately following. Louisiana State Treasurer John Kennedy will be the keynote speaker for the ceremony.