St. James council election yields few surprises

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, October 30, 2007


Staff Reporter

LAPLACE — Representation on the St. James Parish council will mostly stay the same, with five of the seven incumbents returning to their posts, getting into a runoff or returning to their seats unopposed, which was the case for Elwyn Bocz in District 1.

District 2

Newcomer Jason Amato takes over for term-limited Timothy Roussel, who made a run for parish president. Amato, who earned 848 votes, for 62 percent, beat out Troas Poche, who managed to get 626 votes, for 42 percent.

District 3

Incumbent Wilson Marlbrough Jr. returns to his post as District 3 Councilman, outlasting Terry McCreary. Marlbrough received 867 votes, good for 62 percent, while McCreary only picked up 541 votes, for 38 percent.

District 4

For Ralph Patin Jr. to return as District 4 Councilman, he must defeat Paul Keller in a runoff election. The four-man race saw Patin picking up 473 votes, for 41 percent, and Keller getting 323 votes, for 28 percent. Others in the race were Ken Tureaud, who earned 306 votes, for 26 percent, and Roderick Williams, who could only muster 64 votes, good for 5 percent.

District 5

In the four-person race for the District 5 seat, incumbent Charles Ketchens was able to take out the other three candidates without going to a runoff. In a landslide victory, Ketchens gathered 769 votes, for 53percent of the vote. Ketchens’ closest opponent was James Mitchell, who collected 340 votes, for 24 percent. Others in the race were Louis Celestin, who received 257 votes, for 18 percent, and Lawrence Ambrose, who managed 73 votes, for 5 percent.

District 6

Democrat &#8220Ken” Brass takes over the District 6 seat vacated by Elton Aubert, who is in the runoff election for the 58th representative district in the State House. Brass garnered 933 votes, for 64 percent, and beat out Stanley C. Bazile, who received 527 votes, for 36 percent.

District 7

James Brazan returns to his spot on the council by outlasting Nicole Batiste Scott for the District 7 seat. Brazan picked up 885 votes, for 67 percent, while Scott earned 437 votes, for 33 percent of the vote.