River Region School Board, Council races ready for Sept. 30 primary

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, August 16, 2006


Managing Editor

LAPLACE — Candidates are now set for School Board seats across the River Region, for the District 7 St. John the Baptist Council position, and for municipal races in Gramercy and Lutcher.

The primary election is Sept. 30, with the runoff election on Nov. 7.

Seven of 11 incumbent St. John School board members are running unopposed, while current members Patrick Sanders, Russ Wise, Clarence Triche, and Elexia Henderson will run to keep their seats.

Only three of the eight St. Charles School board districts seats are unopposed, and a similar scenario is in place for St. James Parish with four of the seven seats being vied for by multiple candidates.

The District 7 St. John Council open seat is currently held by appointee Jimmy Hymel, after the election of Steve Lee to the at-large position held by Joel McTopy prior to his death. McTopy’s chair had been held by his wife, Sherry, until the election had been held last spring.

In other shakeups, long-time St. Charles Parish School Board Member Alfred Green, 78, announced his plan to retire at the completion of his current term. Also, appointed Lutcher Chief of Police Earl White, who had previously said he would not seek election to the position, filed for the race on Thursday. He was appointed to fill the position after the arrest and conviction of Police Chief Corey Pittman on drug trafficking charges.

Also, in St. James Parish, Gramercy and Lutcher voters will each hold municipal elections, for mayor, chief of police and Board of Aldermen.

Following are candidates who have qualified:


Duaine D, Duffy, 145 River Oaks Drive, LaPlace, Republican.

Cheryl Millet, 1925 Ridgefield, LaPlace, Democrat.



District 1

Russell Jack Jr., 492 Central Ave., Edgard, Democrat.

District 2

Albert &#8220Ali” Burl III, Garyville, Democrat.

Elexia O. Henderson, 257 Chestnut St., Mt. Airy, Democrat

District 3

Gerald J. Keller, 285 NW Fourth St., Reserve, Democrat.

District 4

Patrick H. Sanders, 137 E. 31st St., Reserve, Democrat.

Ferdinand J. Wallace Jr., 164 E. 20th St., Reserve, Democrat.

District 5

Dowie Gendron, 775 W. Fifth St., LaPlace, other party.

District 6

Keith A. Jones, 383 Capt. George Bourgeois St., LaPlace, Democrat.

District 7

Phillip Johnson, 1117 Cinclair Loop, LaPlace, Democrat.

District 8

Helen H. Banquer, 2180 Marion Drive, LaPlace, no party.

Russell E. &#8220Russ” Wise, 2131 Marion Drive, LaPlace, no party.

District 9

Lowell J. Bacas, 517 Parlange Loop, LaPlace, Republican.

District 10

Matthew Ory, 640 S. Golfview Drive, LaPlace, Democrat.

District 11

Raymond J. Anderson Jr., 25 Oxford Drive, LaPlace, no party.

John Crose, 156 Iber St., LaPlace, Republican.

Clarence G. Triche, 1614 Main St., LaPlace, Democrat.



District 1

Ellis Alexander, 256 Lincoln St., Hahnville, no party.

Desmond J. Hilaire, 324 Ash St., Hahnville, Democrat.

District 2

Mary Bergeron, 105 Laurel Court, Luling, Republican.

Angela Fenerty, 15 Walnut Place, LaPlace, Republican.

District 3

Cindy Brasher, 580 S. Destrehan Drive, Destrehan, Republican.

Dennis Naquin, 6 Stanton Hall Drive, Destrehan, Republican.

District 4

Clarence H. &#8220Sonny” Savoie, 128 Early St., Paradis, Democrat.

District 5

John L. Smith, 11798 River Road, St. Rose, Democrat

District 6

Jay Robichaux, 200 Mistletoe Drive, Norco, no party.

District 7

Steve Crovetto, 503 Diane Drive, Luling, Democrat.

Robin Triche Fields, 612 Terri Drive, Luling, Democrat.

District 8

Hank Shepard, 39 Belle Helene Drive, Destrehan, Republican.

Al Suffrin, 241 Villere Drive, Destrehan, Republican.


District 1

Diana B. Cantillo, 165 N. Pine Ave., Gramercy, Democrat.

Glenn Chenier, 1220 N. Airline Ave., Gramercy, Democrat.

J. Steven Welsh, Gramercy, No Party.

District 2

Kenneth J. Foret, 1176 Desoto Drive, Lutcher, Democrat.

District 3

Carol C. Lambert, 3564 Geismar St., Paulina, Democrat.

District 4

George Nassar Jr., 5390 Canatella St., Convent, Democrat.

District 5

Patricia &#8220Ducy” Heary Schexnayder, 7176 Communi St., St. James, Democrat.

Willis A. Octave, 8154 Pierre St., St. James, Democrat.

Yvette Cantrelle Malancon, St. James, Democrat.

District 6

Vondra Dee Etienne. Vacherie, Democrat.

Charles T. &#8220Charlie” Nailor, Vacherie, Democrat.

Trinette M. Jasmin, Vacherie, Democrat.

District 7

Kathleen &#8220Kitty” Becnel, 13411 Margaret St., Vacherie, Democrat.

Richard &#8220Ricky” Reulet Jr., 231 Reulet Road, Vacherie, Democrat.



District 1, Division A

Gaylon Jackson, 2585 Lionel Washington St., Democrat.

Floyd A. Marshall Sr., Democrat.

District 1, Division B

Keyojuan L. Gant, Gramercy, Democrat.

Laverne Gordon, Democrat

District 2, Division A

Patrick P. St. Pierre, 1763 Cabanose Ave., Democrat.

District 2, Division B

Jason P. Amato, 1168 Marquette Drive, Democrat.

At-Large Seat One

Otis J. Schexnayder, 1787 Bay Tree St., Democrat.



Jerome Franklin, 2317 N. Courseault St., Democrat.

Brian J. Melancon, 2316 Cypress St., Democrat.

Earl A. White, 2188 S. Exchange Alley, Democrat.


Septime &#8220Tim” Bourgeois, Democrat.

Troas A. Poche, 1123 Regina St., Democrat.

Rowdy Kennard Scott, 1596 Cabanose Ave., Democrat.



District 1

Betty Cooper Coleman, 281 S. Fir Ave., Democrat.

District 2

John Doucet, 4423 N. Montz, Ave., Democrat.

Harriet D. Melancon, 215 N. Ezidore Ave., Democrat.

District 3

Oren Deroche, 707 N. Ezidore Ave., Republican.

Alvin &#8220Shark” St. Pierre Jr., 317 Belinda Ave., Democrat.

At-Large (two to be elected)

&#8220Kat’ Bocz, 524 N. Ezidore, Democrat.

Rubenstein Mitchell Clark, Democrat.

Shelly M. Warren, Democrat.

Claude &#8220Clyde” Wiggins, 705 N. Montz Ave., Democrat.



Brent H. Dicharry 575 N. Pine Ave., Democrat.

David P. Dufresne, 219 N. Magnolia Ave., Democrat.

David E. Detillier, 154 N. Colonial Ave., Democrat.

Alexander Gerhold, III, 524 N. Ezidore Ave., Gramercy, Republican.


Herman Bourgeois, Democrat.

Terry J. Borne, Democrat.