St. Charles honors teaching excellence

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, May 11, 2005


Staff Reporter

DESTREHAN- St. Charles Parish Public Schools hosted its annual Teachers Of the Year Banquet Tuesday night, presenting awards to teachers who have demonstrated a special commitment to education.

Special awards went to Stephanie Ward, teacher at Destrehan High; Allison Barker, teacher at Hurst Middle; and Craig Howat, teacher at Luling Elementary.

These teachers were bestowed the highest honors of the evening, being recognized as “the best of the best” from their respective districts.

Each of them received a special gift as well as a $400 check.

Ward, who has taught at Destrehan High for 11 years, specializes in English and Journalism. Barker has taught Language Arts at Hurst Middle for three years. Howat has been with Luling Elementary, teaching technology, for two years.

The banquet was held at Ormond Plantation in Destrehan, with the awards presented by Superintendent Dr. Rodney Lafon and School Board Vice-President Jay Robichaux.

The other outstanding teachers of the year were Lisa Andry, New Sarpy Elementary; Julia Bohnsack, Norco Elementary K-3; Sharon Bonnaffons, R.J. Vial; Jo Ann Borden, Ethel Schoeffner Elementary; Mary Guarisco, Lakewood Elementary; Jan Lege, St. Rose Elementary; Marie Olivier, New Sarpy Kindergarten; Allison Puissegur, Mimosa Park Elementary; Lynn Rochelle, Norco Elementary 4-6; Stephanie St. John, Allemands Elementary; Trudy Simon, A.A. Songy Kindergarten.

Tanya Bourgeois, Cammon Middle; Rebecca Boykin, Landry Middle; Wendy Treuting, Martin Middle, and John Vanison, Jr, Hahnville High.

Presenting those awards were Asst. Superintendents Felicia Gomez and Rusty Walker.

Those winners all went through an application process that included class observations and interviews.

They were chosen for the passion, patience and dedication they have illustrated for their profession.