Region students honored at SLU

Published 12:00 am Monday, April 11, 2005

HAMMOND — Top high school seniors from more than 81 high schools in 23 parishes and five states who have been offered more than $1.6 million in scholarships to Southeastern Louisiana University were honored recently at the university’s annual “Scholars Showcase.”

Southeastern President Randy Moffett told the students and parents, “You represent the kind of students Southeastern wants to attract. We believe that you are the future of our state, the individuals who will become our future scientists, teachers, health care workers, corporate CEOs and other professionals who can help lead Louisiana to a bright future.”

Area students offered scholarships were:

ST. CHARLES PARISH St. Charles Catholic High School — Aaron Ayme, Cory Calcagno, Jared Carmouche, Kayla Rebaldo.

Destrehan High School — Rachel Bourgeois, Gabrielle Naquin, Jay St.Pierre, Lacey Wilson, Charles Wyatt.

Hahnville High School — Brandy Lauland, Jessica Madere.


East St. John High School n Elizabeth Allen, Jeremy Fleming.

St. Charles Catholic High School — Jared Carmouche.

Riverside Academy — Natalie Richard

Rebecca Abel, Max Bodin, Harrison Brown, Samantha Domiano, Emily Galloway, Chris Guagliardo, Krystal Juneau, Bruce Kennedy, Kristin Pecararo, Roxanne Pfeil, David Pitcock, Stephanie Rhodus, Jane Frances Rownd, Suzannah Stayton, John Tiley.

H.M. Jackson High School (Milcreek, Wis.) n Angela Bridges

Independence High School n Michael Carona, Tanner Burkhalter, Holly Milazzo

Jewel M. Sumner High School n Karen Crouch

Kentwood High School n Kimberley Kimble

Loranger High School n Sarah Absher, Mitchell Mosher

Oak Forrest Academy n Kaitlin Dyer, Shellie Miller, Allen Seal, Jason Thompson

Ponchatoula High School n Stephanie Bernard, Alicia Beyl, Courtney Dupont, Mariah Flynn, Michael Galjour, Rayne Jarrell, Logan McCardle, Barry Mince Jr., Ashley Mitchell, Lindsey Nyeki, Melissa Perrin, Danielle Ponseti, Kristin Spano, Dana Wheat, Danielle Willie, Robin Willie

St. Thomas Aquinas High School n Catherine Chaucer, Timothy Cormier, Erin Derbins, Nicolas Grest, Richard Grisoli, Jordan Lavigne, Michelle Leumas, Hope Mayer, John Milazzo, Mary Peco, Blake Saunier, Joseph Tenini, Lauren Wingo, Casey Zeller


H. L. Bourgeois High School n Dawn Landry

Vandebilt Catholic High n Claire Bergeron, Chris Prosperie, Megan Thren


Bowling Green High School n Cheryl Branch

Franklinton High School n Brittany Dewitt, Sarah Ladner

Pine High School n Ashley Sumrall


West Feliciana High School n Shelley Debetaz, Stacey White

For additional information about Southeastern’s scholarship packages, contact the Office of Financial Aid, 985-5492244 or 1-800-222-SELU.