St. Charles honors top teachers

Published 12:00 am Friday, May 7, 2004

By LEONARD GRAY – Managing Editor

DESTREHAN – Three St. Charles Parish teachers earned honors as Teacher of the Year in their respective grade levels, qualifying them for possible consideration of state honors.

The celebration was held May 6 at Ormond Plantation in Destrehan.

The elementary school Teacher of the Year is Dana C. Perilloux of St. Rose Elementary. A resident of Montz, Perilloux graduated from Southeastern Louisiana University, and has spent seven years teaching, the last three at St. Rose as a literacy teacher for grades three and five. She earned National Board Certification in 2001. She was also Teacher of the Year for Albert Cammon Middle School during 1998-1999.

“I want my legacy to show the influence I have had on children and what they have accomplished as a result of this influence,” Perilloux stated in an essay.

This was borne out by Kiera Lane, current fifth-grade student of the year, who cited Perilloux as one of her most positive influencing persons in her life.

Asked what her special gift she shares with her students, Perilloux responded, “Immersing my students with learning, in a loving, caring and giving way.”

The remaining teachers of the year for each school are Dana Bergeron at Allemands Elementary, Chrissie Bergeron at G.W. Carver Elementary, Jamie Dufrene at Lakewood Elementary, Wendy Burnam at Luling Elementary, Karen Loup at Mimosa Park Elementary, Marie Cameron at New Sarpy Elementary, Pam Shepard at New Sarpy Kindergarten, Michelle Sule at Norco K-3 Elementary, LaSonn Porter at Norco 4-6 Elementary, Tracy Rousselle at Schoeffner Elementary, Michael Spencer at A.A. Songy Kindergarten and Nanette Dufrene at R.J. Vial Elementary.

The middle school Teacher of the Year is Sherri L. Barton of Albert Cammon Middle School. A resident of Kenner, Barton graduated from Northeast Louisiana University and also earned a master’s degree. She has been a teacher for 27 years, the last three years at Cammon, as a gifted teacher for grades seven and eight.

“I hoped to share with young people the excitement to be experienced through learning and also to instill within them positive feelings about what they were capable of achieving,” Barton stated in an essay.

Asked about her special

(See Teachers, Page 10A)

(From Page 9A)

gift for students, she responded, “Myself. The enthusiasm I have for learning and the personal care I have for them so they can be their very best.”

The remaining teachers of the year for each middle school are Rubystine Lane at Harry Hurst, Trina Douglas at Eual J. Landry and Stephanie Candies at J.B. Martin.

The high school Teacher of the Year is Susan Chenet of Hahnville High School. A resident of Boutte, Chenet graduated from McNeese State University and has earned a master’s degree at the University of London. She has been a Talented Drama teacher at Hahnville for 12 years.

In an introductory essay with her nomination, Chenet wrote, “I teach in respect for all teachers who have impacted my life.”

She added, “I know why I work so diligently. It is the smiles, the tears, the sheer delight I feel when I see my students take their bow during curtain call.”

The remaining high school Teacher of the Year for 2003-2004 is Fredrick Folse of Destrehan High School.